Lost in Transit


Advertisement
Europe
June 19th 2009
Published: June 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, you all know me… I never do things the easy way, and this morning’s flight from Frankfurt to Paris is no exception. This will be different from my other blogs I think, since this is almost a vent session haha. Hear me out.

First things first, my flight from Ottawa. There is nothing better than the roar of the engine as the plane gets ready for take-off. Epic. I had my window seat which gave me a perfect view of the wing shaking like hell when we went through a lovely patch of turbulence. We had some nice views of big fluffy cotton candy clouds, and then flying into Germany was beautiful with all the little towns. (Unlike Canada which is just lakes and green space).

See, I was doing fine up until this point… and then all hell broke loose haha. I now loathe Lufthansa.

Explaining this doesn’t do it justice unless you know the vast size of Frankfurt Int’l, but just know it’s huge. We arrived from Ottawa on time, took the shuttle bus from the tarmac to Terminal(T) 1BC, then the shuttle train to T2 for my flight to Paris. I got to T2 at 7:05 so I’m like HA! I made it! Unfortunately I celebrated too quickly… cough.

Air France told me I couldn’t board b/c they’re almost done and I wouldn’t get there at time (half way down the T). Ugh. I asked if they could hold it 5min, and they’re like no. Okfine. I politely told them they will get me to Paris, asap. They were good and offered me 10:40am… but then they realized it was full.

I was not a happy French Canadian at this point. (I def got to speak French a lot today)

Okfine, I asked to get on ANOTHER flight. They told me to call Air Canada, so I replied w/ my infamous “Julie” look - yes the one that says you’re kidding/I’m going to hurt you/you fail at life. They agreed to call from the centre, but oh wait! Air Canada doesn’t even fly to Paris, but they somehow placed me on a Lufthansa flight, at 8:50… which happened to be in T1A. Ughhhh.

I shuttled back to T1BC. Then T1A. Go through security again where I spent 10min negotiating w/ the security guard to since I didn’t have a boarding pass, but thankfully she let me in. 15min walk later, I’m at Lufthansa check-in… but the reply I get? “This says Air Canada. We don’t count Air Canada tickets.”

I almost spazzed. I told them what happened w/ Air France… how they called, and it was confirmed, and the lady’s like “nope. Can’t do it. Go back to Air Canada and bring me a sheet of paper”

Yupppp. I hate Lufthansa.

Back to T1BC I go. Back out through security - the lady laughed at me, sigh. Between trying to find Air Canada and waiting inline it was now 8:05. I was not pleased. Air Canada apologized, and gave me a sheet (not a pass though!!) with a phone number if there are any other problems. She then told me haul ass to get back to T1A to check-in and board.

Oh mah gawd…I get back to T1A and there are a kajillion people in line for security. It’s now 8:20, so I pleaded my way through a different security check w/o my boarding pass, and then I power walked like I have never power walked before.

Back at Lufthansa’s check-in - I gave her the sheet from Air Canada and she’s like “this still isn’t a ticket”. I’m like listen, I’ve gone from Air France, to Air Canada, to here, to Air Canada, back here. The plane leaves in less than 10min. Call Air Canada back - I’m getting on that plane.

Long story short, I got on the plane at 8:47. They closed the doors at 8:50. Epic win. And we got delayed by abut 10min because of “luggage in transit” Yup. That would be mine.

I was so happy to land in Paris, and just be here. As for the city itself, in the less than 2hrs I’ve been here these are some of my first sights/experiences:
- Squeegee kids, and by kids I literally mean children. One was MAYBE 6 years old, the others around 12 years old. It was sad.
- Smelled way too much urine and feces for my liking. Metro stations = DEATH. Also, young people seem to enjoy spitting in the metro… hygienic, no?
- They have an overly complicated exit system in the metro… I literally got stuck in the station b/c I apparently got in w/ the wrong ticket. But once you’re in you can’t change tickets, so I was standing there like “alloooooo? Aide-moi” haha. Thankfully a nice lady let me leave w/ her pass.
- I received a marriage proposal by a drunk in the metro. I don’t know why I attract drunk people… it’s a talent I wish I didn’t have.

I just came to drop things off at the hotel, but now I’m off to explore for a bit. Oui oui.


Advertisement



21st June 2009

Oh Lawd.
Dear God, this crap WOULD only happen to you.
22nd June 2009

Talent with Drunk people - ehhhhhhhh Never know could be useful !
26th June 2009

It's so me, you know it. I find it funny now, but it wasn't then.

Tot: 0.638s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb