Nice French Guys


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
March 19th 2011
Published: June 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

DublinDublinDublin

Trinity College
Geo: 48.8566, 2.35097

I got the worst sleep imaginable last night. So, I was exhausted and crashed early... about 930ish... (ps. i apologize for spelling errors.. stupid french keyboards). And some guy comes into the dorm room around 2am.. loudly. He reeks of alcohol and vomit, and slowly climbs into the bunk above me. When he gets to the top, he kicks off his shoes and they crash to the floor next to me. Then the thrashing begins... at first I had no idea what he was doing up there... It couldnt be sex, he was the only one up there. Every few minutes hed hit and kick and slam into the wall. What the hell, dude. This goes on for 45min. I tried hitting the side of the bunk and yelling at him to knock it off. To no avail. Finally I get up out of bed to say something... which is when I discovered he was in fact asleep. He was thrashing in his bed in his sleep! FML. I looked around feeling pretty helpless... there were three empty bunks on the other side of the room with the sheets nicely made up. It was 3am... maybe they
DublinDublinDublin

Trinity College
didnt belong to anyone coming back that night... So I took a chance and crawled into one of them. It was quieter and the air was fresher and I could SLEEP!!!.. for all of 15min. Thats when the three cute French guys came back to sleep. ..this is awkward... I didnt know what to do, so I played stupid.

Me: Is this your bed?
They hadnt seen me yet since it was dark in the room.
French Guy #1: Oh! What are you doing there?
They start talking in French and laughing.
Me: Im sorry! That guy keeps kicking the bed and I couldnt sleep! I didnt know you were coming back.
I start to get out of the bunk.
French Guy #1: You can stay there!
More French, more laughing. Im retarded, I didnt get the joke yet. I get out of the bunk.
French Guy #2: Wait, wait! Why are you there?
I pointed to the guy above my bunk and explained again. All three guys turned and looked at the guy above my bunk, amazingly looking quite concerned! French Guy #1 follows me over and cli,bs onto the bunk to check the guy. He reached over
DublinDublinDublin

Trinity College
and turned the bunk light off for me (noisy guy had left it on... which was also annoying). About then I got the joke.. They were laughing and telling me to stay in the bunk and obviously there wasnt anywhere else the guy was gonna sleep! They were laughing cause there was a girl ready to go for the guy in the bunk.. no need to work to pick one up, she comes with the price of the bed! French Guy #1 walks away since there werent any asses to kick.
A minute later he comes back and very politely asks, "You can sleep in my bed with me?"
lol!!! Oh man. I just laughed and said no.

Needless to say, I got crap sleep the rest of the night. That guy just keep waking me up every half hour or so with his thrashing. Sigh. I was looking forward to the double Chris and I would be in when we get to Blois.

That day Chris and I decided to check out the Natural Hisotry Museum of Archaeology in Dublin. Barry the tour guide had reccomended it since its free and it has a Bog Bodies exhibit.
DublinDublinDublin

Trinity College
Yup, I learned all about my namesake. Its funny cause in 7th grade I had a science teacher that asked if I was named after a bog, and I thought that was the lamest suggestion ever. Annoying. Turns out she was right. So there are bogs all over Ireland. Theyre just layers of dessicated plant material and water. Theyre actually like 98% water. Theyre also acidic and antibacterial, so things dont decay in them. Hundreds of years ago, people would get thrown into them.. either as murder, or its suspected as sacrifices. But they didnt decay! They were perfectly preserved, skin intact. One guy still has hair on his head and chin AND HE HAS HAIR GEL!! Im not kidding. He was a rich guy and they found traces of what had to be ancient hair gel on his head. lol!! Freakin awesome. Anyway, it was very interesting. Most of the bodies and artifacts that have been found in the bog were discovered while the peat was being harvested. The Irish cut out bricks of the peat bog, dry them out during the summer and then burn them in the winter for fuel.

We had to leave for the
DublinDublinDublin

Delivering postcards!
airport at 300pm so we got one last meal of fish n chips in before saying goodbye to Ireland. Flying to Paris went rather smoothly, but getting to the hotel proved alot more difficult.

So we had to take a train to the metro and then walk a block. Easy right? Nope. Nothing was in English. We bought a metro ticket at the train station (which was useful for later atleast) when we really needed a train ticket. Then we had trouble figuring out which track we needed to be on and in the process missed the first train headin into Paris. A French guy saw how lost we looked and offered US help!! He turned out to be a godsend. The trains were behind schedule due to some sort of problem. Half an hour later the next train finally arrived AND THEN IT BROKE DOWN!! So we were all kicked off the train in the middle of nowhere.. And Chris and I again are just confused. Now what happens? Is something else coming to take us into town? After fifteen minutes of standing out in the cold with our packs, I finally work up the nerve to go
DublinDublinDublin

Haha, funny post box
talk to the French guy again. He spoke fairly good broken English. So I asked what happened and then what is going to happen next. He was so friendly!! And here we were afraid of the French! Shortly thereafter another train came and got us. The French guy gave us a valuable crash course on how to use the Metro (the subway system in Paris). After that it was smooth sailing. We made it to our hotel close to midnight (after trudging up a hundred stairs in and outside the Metro with my pack). We checked in and the guy told us our room was on the fourth floor. "àçé"(è@!!!! Really? So we lugged our packs up four more flights of stairs. I was exhausted and expecting to walk into a full noisy dorm room. But that didnt happen. We walked into a room with just two twin beds and its own bathroom with shower. What the hell? We sort of just stared for a minute.. not believing our luck that we had been upgraded without knowing it. Karma does exist. We showered and passed out and the sleep was amazing. =)


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

DublinDublin
Dublin

"The Spire" also lovingly called by locals as the "Stiffy by the Liffey". Millions was spent on it for the new millenium... except it wasnt done in time.
DublinDublin
Dublin

Museum of Archaeology
DublinDublin
Dublin

Government building next to the museum
DublinDublin
Dublin

Last fish ´n chips for a looooong time =(
ParisParis
Paris

Our dingy Parisian hotel room we weren´t expecting, lol. It´s so stereotypical, I love it.
ParisParis
Paris

Our dingy Parisian hotel room we weren´t expecting, lol. It´s so stereotypical, I love it.


28th March 2011

;)

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb