Owenahencha mish-mash


Advertisement
Europe
January 17th 2010
Published: January 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I don't even know where to start... this is why a day by day is great cause its really hard to do them all together. Well I'll give it a try in sections:

Friday- so I have learned to laugh at irish time because when they say we are leaving at 4 that really means 5:30 or even 6. The bus finally left around 6pm which made it quite dark which unfortunately made it impossible to look out the windows 😞 but anyway we got there and it was just the cutest little place ever. They told us it was right by the water but it was so dark that we couldn't even see it. You would think street lights are a given, well not in ireland! haha ya pitch black really is pitch black in ireland. when we got in the little retreat house we ran to pick are little cubical rooms which were little more than the size of the bed. (Sadly or amazingly it made me realize that I could totally make it as a hermit who lived in a little space with very few belongings-as long as I had an area to paint) anyway they made us mexican food the first night or really irish mexican food. Because, get this all californians, they served potato soup with it. It was so over-amazingly good but definitely not traditional mexican, maybe (big maybe) spanish, but? Anyway there were tortillas with loads of meat, peppers, lettuce, grilled tomatoes and all the normal fixings. Again I say it was INCREDIBLE (well the plain parts I ate)!!!! Then we had this kind of chocolate cake and tea- yes I am going to keep talking about the food like this at this retreat because every meal was better than the one before it! I think I gained 5 stones in just 3 days. We then proceeded to play welcome games like house on fire and mafia boss and some drank loads and loads of wine (SO not a wine fan- sorry mace! I knew that before coming here) which made it really entertaining. We then got to go to bed and let me tell you I LOVE my sleeping bag. It is seriously the best thing ever!! it was SO warm and skwooshy, it made me feel like a little bug in a nice snug rug. and it fit in a bag smaller than my clothes bag!! Definitely get one!!! it even has a dirty clothes bag included!

Saturday- I slept superbly! haha and when it was finally light, could see that we were seriously like a cliff dive away from the "beach" (i have come to notice that what they call a beach is where the water hits a shore line, where there might be sand- not exactly the california beach- but sorry there's is better) we went for a walk after a toast and cereal breakfast and it was just grand. You will see for yourselves but it was the most peaceful place ever. It also made me realize that I know I want to, without a doubt, find my base in my eventual future in a small town where people know your name and there are wide expanses of walking spaces and maybe a colder/wetter climate (what a shock, like most of ireland!!) We went back in after our walk for Taize prayer. It was started in a town in france and is basically any way to pray that is meditative- so like repeated verses like "jesus, remember me when I come into your kingdom", silent time or discussion. I didn't particularly like the singing or discussion part but the silent time was really nice. We were told that you can actually visit Taize, France and it is a great place to become more spiritual and experience a new way to faith?? Maybe destination?? we then had quiche which wasn't my favorite but all the vegies loved it 😊 even here I am constantly surrounded by them. We then went for another walk and just relaxed. Mass came next which was done in a more family style in a circle of the 20 of us and the chaplain. It was really intimate and quite amazing (like they first performed the mass). I hate to say this but being here confirms even more for me that the christian faith is so important to me, I don't mean to offend but the catholic faith just doesn't do it for me. At least for me, the mass is SO separate from life and just doesn't connect to community anymore at least not in the same way. It might just be me but when I participate in the christian route I actually feel like I have a relationship with God versus with the Catholic faith I am just going to go and say I have gone or as my only option (which is the case here). Again this is just me! and my own silly notions, don't hate me, I love all my Catholic friends and family and totally respect you and your faith choice!!

Anyway, that was a random tangent. We then had dinner. Mmmm mmmm so so good. It was like an irish thanksgiving (just thinking about it is making me hungry!) they had turkey with rosemary roasted potatoes, mashed potatoes, carrots and corn-ish things, stuffing, broccoli and green stuff hehe. And a bit more that I just can't remember. No joke everything was THE BEST thing I have ever tasted. It was beyond incredible. Edwina, one of the irish girls in Iona, made most of the food for us and she is a magician. It was so amazing!! Sorry haha. We then had to sit for a while, haha. We all then planned to go to a local pub that we thought might have a session going.

the irish girls saw what the americans looked like and said uh uh we are making you over. So a few of us got put into the spin of makeovers. HAHA it was the funnies thing EVER!!! WOW!! and no I did not take any blackmail pictures. HAHA it was... they had me put on a dress with tights and my makeup was haha outrageous. It was the most I have EVER had on in my ENTIRE life all put together!!! ahhahahha all I can do is just laugh. I mean they all said I looked really good but huh not my style! It was terrible haha but whatever it was fun. Don't worry mom the only guys in the pub were either 12 or 80 ahah. we stayed there a few hours till about 11:30 and then some of the people wanted to go on to a club in the next town over but a few of us headed back. I did learn that there are drinks I can actually drink in ireland (the irish girls advised us non-beer drinkers): a hot whiskey is amazing and very irish, a west coast cooler is quite good and a wkd aka wicked is also good, but very sugary. I heard that the fat frog is also good but?? NO I did not get one full drink of each, I sipped from other people's drinks. I only had one for the entire evening, so don't worry I didn't embarrass myself! The group of us that went back then went back and walked to the beach in the dark. It was so incredible!! the stars were twice as bright as I have ever seen them at avila beach, which is just insane. They were so clear and so just amazingly beyond words. It looked almost like a hologram. We then went and played cards for a while and my friend knocked over a table hehe. ate some biscuits or cookies (which they call digestives and no its just a name, not what it sounds like) and off to bed. again my sleeping bag was amazing (thank you moma!!)

Sunday: We woke up to the smell of rashers (bacon/ham) and eggs. Again amazing!! After that and waiting for the rain to pass we went for a "long walk" (persuasion reference, anyone get it??) A group of about 8 went to the other beach which was a lot closer to the ones back home but it was a little bit of hike to get to. Once we were there a few crazies decided they wanted to go for a swim. Yikes I put my hand in and it was FREAZING!!! and even the air was cold! Anyway we played there for a bit and then decided we wanted to go to the little pier. well about 15 min later we realized we couldn't get over there but would continue on. So 45 min later we are a little lost and the AMERICANS figured out how to get back. Yes me and another girl thought out a way to get back and it actually worked, booya irish. Anyway 2 hours after we left, we return and so the whole time it had been kind of on and off sprinkling but about 3 min till we are to get back it starts POURING!! like heavy shower, drenched wet in 4 seconds pouring! it was incredible but so WET!! Man it was fun!!! Of course I was in heaven and kind of wanted to stay out but because of health risk and no more clean clothes, decided to forgo that option.

So we headed back. I was able to be in around 5 but then soon had to leave for my irish night with my group. we went to milano's which as it sounds like was actually italian but apparently a chain in ireland (I was actually kind of glad for pizza after the vast irish sampling all weekend). It was interesting to hear what the other girls had done while here (they are roommates so they do most things together). they went to the blarney castle last weekend, cobh (pronounced cove) this weekend and dublin next. and go out quite regularly. so ya fun stuff!

I REALLY, REALLY want to go to gallway!! and might try to go in two weekends. but Im thinking next weekend im going to try to explore my own city, get a lay for the land! After dinner we went to this cute little traditional pub called sin e. they had a triad going and was the irish pub I have been longing for. we were really the only ones there under 50 but it was just SO great!! I told my roommates about it and we are going to go back. Anyway I got my West Coast cooler but was able to sip a true guinness. It takes about 4 min to make by the bartender and a few more to settle. You have to wait for the line to go fine between the head and the black. I have to say it was by far one of the best beers I have ever had but coming form me, I don't think thats saying much. It is definitely a thick concoction and worth a try. I'm not an instant fan and probably wont get again (sorry guinness fans) I think its really cool though to be able to say I had some guinness in ireland! HA

so ya that was the weekend that you all missed, I am tired now of course not from the incredibly packed weekend but from relaying all to you! jk Night or good afternoon to you all. I hope you have a stupendous sunday and following week! talk to you manana.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.289s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb