weekend


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
January 15th 2010
Published: January 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This is the last message for a few days... remember don't call my mom and tell her something is wrong with me. She will be freaked out enough I'm sure. I will return on Sunday and leave a message about my weekend.

So on that note I will tell you what I realized today: this city is SO beautiful. It is under a near constant cover of fog, which rather than making the city seem unapproachable it just seems charming. There is a mist that just sits in the air and makes it smell like rain in every breath. I have never lived in a place where it stayed this cold or this wet for more than a few days, and all the green and mist is just the most magical thing I have ever seen. There is a sort of peace here, I don't know if it comes from the slower pace, the quieter demeanor or what, but I can just feel this calm throughout the entire city. All the trees, all the buildings and indeed even some of the cars are covered with this mossy green texture that makes me think of a sort of fantastic garden. I truly love it here and hope that I will get to spend some time in the smaller villages and see how they differ from Cork. The city is larger than I had hoped but the people here and the atmosphere here, make it feel like home (not Ventura or SLO per say but just home as a sort of concept).

I am still getting used to them driving on the "right" side of the road. It is stranger than I had thought to have to look right then left rather than left then right. Relearning things I thought I had mastered as a child, is proving to be a struggle. And even when I look to see if the driver sees me, I am looking at the wrong side and kind of have a moment of panic, thinking that no one is driving. I'm sure that will change in time and then I will have to deal with the same relearning back home.

So to sum up my discovery- all of you should come to Ireland, if you can, and see the amazing culture and life you are missing. I'm not saying everyone I know should come visit me while I'm here! Just that you should try to make it to Ireland some time in your life and see the majestic isle of green and mist!

well thats all for today I leave in about an hour, so I need to get packing and eat lunch. I hope you all have a great day and an even better weekend! Talk to you soon.

Advertisement



15th January 2010

Cork
You painted a wonderful picture of Cork for us with your delightful word description. Thanks. Love, Pa

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb