yesterday will be tough to beat


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
January 14th 2010
Published: January 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So today definitely can't compare to yesterday. Today was just a blah day, sorry to disappoint. I had class from 10-1 then 3-4 so I was in class most of the day. Nothing too exciting. I did find out that I got into the "Modern Irish" class today. So that is really exciting! (And within 5 min of that ended up behind my teacher in line that I had two of the three classes with today, and kind of felt a little bit like a stalker.) Anyway, I get to learn a bit of the language while I'm here!!!!!!!!!!!! And can impress you all with my random knowledge when I return.

Other than that I had renaissance class this morning and learned about the church Oranmichele in Florence, which was pretty cool. History lesson: it was a church maintained by all of the guilds of florence which basically meant it was a huge cage-fight of which guild was better. Which, let me tell you, the Calimala guild totally won out because of Ghiberti's statue! (boo-ya). Then in my Maker's myth class, we learned about Wols and Sartre, two of which people I knew nothing about as of a few days ago and am now more confused with who they are and what they stand for. That class is really awesome though- it goes through impressions the artist puts forth or at least the image that others associate with a specific artist. On a side note: I feel like my vocab will be vastly different when I return because the words that they happen to use regularly here are far above what I have ever heard in the states. I can't give you an example as it were, but I will just say that I am constantly put to shame with my lack of dictionary skills and awesome accent 😞

To finish up the day I had "Approaches to art history" and man that was a doosy!! We talked about how historical fact can not be proved. How our supposed truth is not truth at all, but a fabrication. Man my head is still spinning from what was proposed. But basically we talked for an hour about how that loop is possible and how history is all subjective based on who wrote it, where they were from and what class they were in. Even photographed and documented events were called into question. I'll give you an extreme example of a supposed fact: so the twin towers, have I seen them in person, no. So how do I know that they were ever there to begin with. How do I REALLY know that all I saw and all I heard wasn't a fabrication; if you really think about it, and maybe I didn't explain it quite clearly enough, I can't. But oh JEEZ my little brain hurts. We also discussed JFK and the WW2. It sounds crazy but if you really think about it, even dates of when wars started are a questionable claim. If you are confused, well join the club! haha actually I'm not that confused about what we talked about, but rather just overblown with knowledge that I didn't really care to learn. I already (as my mom knows) have trouble with history, but if you add in, is it made up or not? oh JEEZ I really will be a hopeless case!!

well sorry for that philosophical rant; I guess thats just my mood right now :s

So I guess thats it, hope you all have a great day!! talk to you tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0174s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb