In Ireland with no dog then a dog and now no dog


Advertisement
Europe
June 26th 2023
Published: June 28th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Once up and running we decided to go into Waterford which is about a 30 minute bus ride from the campsite. It was quite nice to be living a civilised way for a night or even a few days.

We get off at the Waterford factory and shop. Now I am not one for cut glass if I am honest but you cannot go to Waterford without visiting the factory and shop. We went on the factory tour and it is really amazing that they blow the glass in the traditional way, they actually mark out where the glass is to be cut and then cut it again individually, mostly by hand. It is really great to see the craft not being totally automated. Now I really understand why Waterford crystal is so expensive. We walk around the Viking triangle which again is very interesting.

We see some amazing wall art and have a spot of lunch before making our way back to the campsite. There was an Irish Silver Museum which I thought do I want to go in or don’t I and decided probably wrongly to leave this - I will never know now.

So on the bus and Mike decides we need to get off. Now I should have trusted my instincts - even though I agreed with him - and said this is way too early but I don’t and we jump off the bus. You guessed it, we were way to early. Before coming here I had fallen over on my ankle and it is still a bit sore although the swelling has gone down now which is good - so I am not best pleased with him, having been on my feet all day but it doesn’t matter cos I now have to walk an extra 2k than if we had got off the bus at the right place.

We are nearly back when I see this dog running in and out of cars and running after cars so I think this is going to end in disaster for the dog and also maybe a car. I manage to get the dog to come to me and she is excitable but very well trained so when I calmed her down I managed to see she had a telephone number on her collar. After Mike rings the number a few times and no one answers we decide to knock on a house door and see if they can help us out. This strange and at first very unhelpful lady came to the door and said it is not hers. I ask could she lend me a lead to which at first she was not wanting to do this - but she did in the end loan me a lead. I take the dog (who is called Red I find lout later - why when she is as white as white can be, nought as queer as folks comes to mind) back to the campsite and ask the campsite owners for some help. The gentleman rings the number and the owner answers and is in Spain and someone else is looking after his dog. We think the owners did not answer the phone to Mike as it was an English number.

So we are waiting for the person to come and collect the dog and I said to the campsite owner I was worried as the dog was so well behaved when not frightened but I was going home in a couple of days and no way can I take a dog - even more so now with pet passports and all that. But a friend of the owner duly arrived, so goodbye Red.

We decided to stay on another night and go to Dublin for the port today and cross and stay in Holyhead before starting our journey home.

Now what has been the highlight of Ireland

1: the scenery is beautiful

2: the people they are so friendly and as you drive along they wave

3: the Wild Atlantic Way signs are for the most part really good

4: very motorhome friendly with wild camping largely accepted

5: everywhere sells Irish meat, cheese and locally produced produce

6: just love the place to be honest and will definitely be back

Now which is the county I have loved the most that we have visited

1: Donegal without a doubt

Now what has not been the best

1: cats eyes in the roads are very large and plentiful which means on narrow roads in a motorhome it is very bumpy

2: many of the roads leave a lot to be desired as they are not smooth and sometimes I felt my brain being shaken and not stirred I can tell you

3: whilst motorhome friendly in general, a lot of car parks have height barriers (but if honest you can always find somewhere else to park - so being picky here)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb