Arrival with Masai Mara


Advertisement
Africa
December 19th 2013
Published: December 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

HomeHomeHome

This is the warmest home I have ever been to. Josephine is very house proud.
Arrival was a little hectic to say the least after almost missing my connecting flight.
I am met at the airport by 2 African men. I think this has to be the most terrifying point in my whole life, I am about to get in a car with 2 African men i have never met before, who are going to drive me to a remote area in pitch black at 4 am in the morning. One is the driver and one is Masai Mara and he will introduce me to my host. We drive for about 2 hours of which the last hour is a dirt track and very bumpy and uncomfortable. We arrive at a school in Olasiti in daylight approx 6am and I am told we have to wait for help to carry my bags as we have an hours walk over think mud and bush. Whilst we are waiting we see a heard of gazelles. My host Isaac arrives with his brother to carry my rucksack and a large laundry bag full of donated clothes shoes and toys.

We arrive at my host family's home at 7.30 and I am introduced to Isaac's wife Josephine. She shows me my room and I'm am pleased to learn I have a bed! The home is more comfortable than what I expected with a sofa and wall decorations, even a poster with Will and Kate on the wall.

Isaacs’s family name is Naigirro and so this is the tribal name also. Amongst the tribe are Isaac mother and father, 2 brothers, 1 sister and 5 children, all of which are very friendly and pleased to welcome me. The children belong to his sister and brothers. They all live within yards of each other. The next nearest tribe/family is approx 15 min walk away. The tribes can be seen for miles around and they all know each other. As soon as I advise Josephine the bag of donations is for them, they invite the rest of the tribe around and everything is shared out between them. The little girls go to put their new dresses on and dance around in them, they are so grateful for everything, it felt like I had given them a million pound. They have 14 cows, 30 goats, 5 dogs, 2 cats and 8 chickens. I am very tired and the rest of the day passes with a blur.

The second morning I am woken with the sound of the goats at 5.30. I am shown how to milk the cows, which is more difficult than it looks. Then I am told I am to be given a Masai name and to do this I have to dress in Masai attire which is borrowed from Isaac's mother. The names are chosen because of something that has happened to that person. They name me Nanotuesha (pronounced nalo-gresha) which means someone arriving in the rainy season. They say that because I arrive in the rainy season and the rain is considered a blessing then I am also considered a blessing. They call me by my Masai name from now on.

We travel approx 20 min walk away to one of the projects which is building an orphanage. There are so many orphaned children (at least 1 child in every family/tribe) because parents have died due of illness. The foundations have to be dug so we make a start which is hard work because the ground is so wet and the soil is heavy. We (2 other volunteers staying with other tribes and 3 Masai Mara) make good progress and dig half of the area needed.



On Tuesday we go to the local town called Ngong and when I say local village it's a three hour walk up the mountain, it's tough, but this is traditional and a normal thing for the people of Olasiti village. Many people pass us on this walk taking things to sell in the market, ways to make a living. Donkeys carrying charcoal. Ladies carrying heavy bags. The Masai Mara people have a strong sense of character. One thing that you notice on this walk is the beautiful views, farms, mountains, animals and tranquility. The town looks like a shanty town. I'm feeling intimidated attracting a lot of attention as a white person and female. I immediately know who the Masai Mara are because they greet you with suppa? (How are you?) to which I reply ipa (fine). All the Masai Mari are friendly and want to talk to you and shake hands, they know you are a volunteer and therefore bringing the people good. They ask where you are staying so they can come and dance for you. I am shown around by Josephine and she helps me get a SIM card etc. we are late getting back so decide to take a pikpik (motorbike backy) home which costs 200 ksh whereas a car taxi costs 2000 ksh. The rain starts on the way home and the pikpik can't go no further because of the heavy rain which causes thick mud. We are soaked to the skin and left with a 2 hour walk home in the dark and the rain. Josephine has called ahead and so we arrive home at 8pm and a meal prepared by Isaac's sister is waiting for us. Isaac took one look at how wet I was and said "Lisa the rain is a blessing, consider yourself well and truly blessed" a laugh out loud moment to say the least.



Wednesday is a day off from the project so I help around by loading sacks of charcoal for the family to go to the market and sell. I do the family washing and milk the cow then play with the children and sing some nursery rhymes with them which they love. Thursday (today) I walk to the clinic with my host as she is 5 months pregnant and has
Josephine's shopJosephine's shopJosephine's shop

She sells washing powder, sugar, batteries, oil, phone credit, matches, sweets and crisps.
yet to register at the clinic. We walk about 2 hours to be told all doctors in Kenya are on strike over pay.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



19th December 2013

Well done you xxx
Hi Lisa Lovely to hear from you, I love your new clothes and name! I only wish I had sent you out with some spare clothes for you to give to the family and children - if you have an address I will gladly send a parcel out with a variety of things. It sounds as though your days are very busy and you will be superfit by the time you return! Must get on my treadmill immediately! Well it is busy here, work, work, work followed by entertainment, drinks, drinks, drinks! We have a Christmas Carol service to attend tonight at Symphony Hall following a champagne reception! Need to leave work at 4.30 and I still have at least another 3 hours work to do so best crack on - will send you my 'blog' at the weekend! Love you, take care Tracey & Co xxx
19th December 2013
image

adorable
this image melts my heart...
22nd December 2013

great pics
Lisa, you have it easier than i thought you might, you have a bed, a window, great new clothes. its like being at nans with all the lace. have fun and and enjoy the experience - i am in awe of you and what your doing. Have a very merry different christmas. xxxxx
22nd December 2013

Sounds really interesting Lisa. In 4 weeks we will be in at the top of Africa in Morocco. We will think of you. x
26th December 2013

Hi, Merry Christmas & A Happy New Year xxx
Well Christmas is nearly over here, Martin's Dad came both days so I am exhausted but we enjoyed the days. Annabel, James' girlfriend came for Christmas and they both go back on Saturday 28/12 - we are off to Madeira first thing in the morning so I have just finished packing - still to do the important stuff, such as shoes & make up! Not sure if the weather will be as good as we are used to but I need the break so looking forward to it immensely - plenty of nice steaks, fish etc.. but no GOAT! Take care Lisa, miss you xxx
28th December 2013

Thanks for your kind wiches
Hi Tracy, thanks for the Christmas wishes. Hope you all had a fantastic day. I didn't manage a glass of champers Christmas Day but did have fizzy pop! Happy new you to you and have a fantastic holiday and enjoy the REST. Miss you xx
8th January 2014
image

Children looking after children
I'm currently volunteering in Africa and these children are living at a nearby home to us. The children although are on holiday from school, still have a very busy day either farming or looking after younger family members.

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 16; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb