Sweeter Than Spanish?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Cantabria » Santander
September 10th 2010
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 43.461, -3.80793

A cool, crisp morning ... the peaceful sound of birds singing awakened me from my deep slumber ... I love the melodic song of birds chirping ... except when it's f*cking 6:30 AM!!!! But at approximately 6:31 AM, the sounds were silenced ... because that's when the earplugs went in.

My favourite part of staying at Pension Luisito is chatting with Julia and practicing my Spanish; I love the fact that Julia isn't afraid to correct my grammar. How else can I improve and eventually find that Spanish wife? But unfortunately, this can sometimes make for some pretty drawn-out conversations in the morning, since my brain has yet to fully awaken and the Spanish mistakes are a plenty.

The first order of the day was breakfast at Expressate, a place I really wanted to try after seeing their delicious-looking cakes last year. I walked by this place quite a few times last year but never had a chance to sample them, so I made a point of doing so this time around. The verdict? Not worth the wait. White cake layered with dulce de leche, and covered in shredded coconut - way too sweet. I've noticed that Spaniards like
bbb

A lone VLT at Expressate - I wonder if they'll end up being a big source of addiction for patrons as they have become in Canada?
their desserts super sweet - my suspicion is that the extreme sweetness of Spanish women has created a high tolerance for sugar, making them crave sweeter and sweeter things.

I needed to do a bit of shopping because for once, there is a souvenir I must have from Spain (besides bringing home a Spanish wife) - a Spanish soccer jersey! They are the World Champions after all, so any good wannabe Spaniard would get his hands on one.

Mango is a big fashion chain in Spain, and for a long time the face of Mango was Penelope Cruz - made sense, given that she's the most famous Spanish actress in the world. I would normally take offence that their poster girl is no longer Spanish, but having recently become a Scarlett Johansson fan after seeing her go brunette in Iron Man 2, I am all for this new international approach they have adopted. Now if only Scarlett would pick up a Spanish accent ... sigh ... another Miss Spain ...

Today, I realized something - that I need to visit The Dominican Republic. Why? I'm not a fan of pre-packaged holidays, where the whole point is to lie on the same beach for a week, drinking your face off, and over stuffing yourself at mediocre buffets where the food is like what you can get back at home, or is a pale imitation of what the locals would eat ... but I've found an overwhelming reason to go there. What might this reason be?

According to a sales girl I was chatting with, it's where lots of Spanish tourists go!!! Apparently, certain hotels can be completely filled with Spaniards during the fall and winter ... she once went herself during October or November. And now, for the kicker - she told me that Dominican women are known for being even sweeter than the Spanish ... how is that possible??!??! I need to see this for myself! Somebody sign me up! Apparently, Santo Domingo is the place to be ...

Being my last full day in Spain, for lunch I opted to have the most delicious of food you can find in Spain - a kebab! What can I say? I find some foreign foods to be tastier than anything the locals can produce! I ended up at a place I made note of last year while in El Sardinero - they brag that they have over 20 years experience with kebabs, but I dunno ...

I chose the wrap-style kebab, and they simply rolled it up without sealing at least one of the ends - a rookie mistake! As expected, a mess spilled out of the bottom ... though they did use an interesting technique when grilling it in the panini press - a steel rod was placed next to the kebab wrap to prevent it from getting squished while being grilled. I also ended up with some mild stomach problems after ...

So I think I figured out how Spain managed to beat Holland in the World Cup final - Julia told me that while watching the match, she placed this Don Quixote statue in front of the TV during over time as a good luck charm ... and of course, Spain won! The funny thing? Don Quixote is from La Mancha, as is Andres Iniesta, the player who scored the winning goal. Coincidence? Maybe, maybe not ...

On my final evening in Spain, I had a very romantic dinner with myself, as the restaurant's TV on a music channel that was playing a "Top Songs From the
kkk

One of the final cafes con leche of the trip ... sigh ... even L'il Buddha shed a tear.
80s" countdown - Chris DeBurgh's Lady in Red and The Bangles' Eternal Flame! Awww ... how perfectly cheesy and romantic!

Late Night You-Tubing Moment: On the subject of cheesy love songs, I walked past a Pizza Hut on the way back to the Pension and they must have been on a music channel that was playing a "Top Songs from the 90s" countdown. They were blaring Love is All Around by Wet Wet Wet - haven't heard that song in ages!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

ll
l

I love how Segways have become such an afterthought, and now only exist as a tourist gimmick.
oo
o

Playa de la Bikini, in La Magdalena peninsula - it's said that this was the first place in Spain where bikinis were worn. As far as I'm concerned, this place should be turned into a holy shrine!
nn
n

One final Spanish sunset ...
ss
s

I know this man was carrying it for his kid, but a grown man carrying a Hello Kitty backpack is definitely a funny sight.
vv
v

Dinner at Parrilla Gines - the bread had a bit of a burnt taste to it, but was pretty soft and chewy inside. The lubina (bass) was perfectly cooked, with chunks of garlic strewn atop for flavour. Very simply done, as is typical of most Spanish food. The potatoes were a bit undercooked and super plain.
ww
w

Cheesecake - different ... but ok. A bit hard, and excessively sweet.


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb