Day 2 Beach Day


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca » s'Arenal
July 26th 2023
Published: July 26th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Day 2
I was tossing and turning a lot last night. It wasn’t a great night’s sleep, but I feel fine this morning! I woke up at 6:30 because I forgot to turn my work alarm off! I got back into bed and had a couple more hours good sleep.

By the time I actually got up, showered and sorted, it was 9:30. I went down for breakfast in the hotel. I considered going out for breakfast, but decided to ‘eat in’ until I get oriented.

It’s all very closed in around the hotel. It is hotel, after hotel, brick on brick. It’s very different to what I’m used to, but it seems fit for purpose. I’m on the seventh floor. Looking out this morning, I see that I am a stones throw from the marina. My first walk has been noted!

After breakfast I sat around the pool to blog, and take 5 minutes before I venture out. I walked straight towards the marina, then saw the beach, so opted for the beach instead this morning. It is quite crowded, I did find a nice spot, and sunbathed, with intermittent watching the world enjoying the sun, sea and sand. I must confess, I do like a tan, but I’m not a good sunbather! I get very fidgety! At one point,I was dozing, then got a rude awakening…. By a breakaway sun brolly! It certainly made me jump.
I know I booked this few days for relaxation, but as I’m laid on the beach, my mind keeps on wondering what is there further along?

I managed to stay on the beach until 12 O’clock, then I decided I’ve had enough for now. I walked along the promenade to get a coffee, and a water, whilst I decide what to do next. I am going to have a look at my map!

Well, not much luck with the map! There are water parks, bars, hotels, and tat shops for miles. I sat for an hour or so, people watching, then decided on having another go at sunbathing. I managed another couple of hours, I think I settled into it better this session, as I don’t have that feeling of missing out!

At about 3pm I decided on another walk, this time I followed the promenade further around the bay, hoping to see something different. I didnt! It was more of the same. Some really buzzing young peoples drinking ‘full on’ bars, some quieter bars, cafes, restaurants, supermarkets and typical Spanish tourist tat shops. Although I did see a regular service bus!!! I got my map out again, I can go to Palma for the day tomorrow. Not certain what will be different there, but maybe a bit of history to see there. I’ve found that it has an old town, and a cathedral. It’s looking like a positive little trip for tomorrow! I’m planning to go in the morning, then I will come back, sunbathe, and relax later in the day! It’s a plan!

I made my way back to the hotel, I was as quite surprised by how far away I had walked! But I’m happy to walk!

I really need to get rid of the itchy sand, so start off with a nice, hot shower, then I laid on the bed to watch another episode of Firefly whilst I dry off. I’ve had a bit of sun today so the next job is applying a lot of aftersun! Then another episode whilst it soaks in!

I’m happy with the use of my time this afternoon! Finally, I get ready to go out for dinner. I did see somewhere selling baklava, that would be a perfect desert. I do love a bit of baklava! I’ve seen quite a few spag bols along the front, that might be my option for tonight, but I’ll need something in the breadline to go with it …. we’ll see!

I ended up walking further than I did earlier today. I didn’t find the baklava though! I’ve ordered my spag Bol, with a bruschetta on the side. I also ordered an iced coffee which doesn’t sound promising though! The guy said, it’s nothing special, just regular coffee with ice! We will see! Ha ha it was an espresso with ice, I just ordered more water so it wasn’t as strong, then it ok!

I really my meal, I ate every last bit! It did seem like a lot before I started; I must have been more hungry than I thought. Although I did skip lunch…. In preparation! As I walked back, I kept my eyes on the lookout for that baklava, but to no avail; I must have imagined it. Now that I can’t have it, I want it more!

As compensation to myself, I got a coffee gelato to walk home with. Obviously, the gelato didn’t make it all the way back to the hotel! I got back at about 10pm, which is plenty late enough for me. I will get showered, then pj’s on, then bed for me…. With a bit more Firefly Lane.I’m getting quite into it now! …. Today I have done 13500 steps, which is 8.5k - chuffed with that for a sunbathing day! And another day is done xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb