Day 3 - Off to Palma


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca » Palma
July 27th 2023
Published: July 27th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Day 3
Wow, I slept like a baby last night! I woke up at 9:25!! I was n the balcony, checking Facebook etc, the cleaner came in, and frightened the absolute life out of me! When you’re travelling solo, the last thing you expect is someone saying, ‘hi’ in the morning! I nearly fell off my chair. We both fell about laughing, then agreed I didn’t need cleaning services today.

I got showered and sorted,and ready to go for breakfast. I’ve got a little kick in my step today. It could be because I’m getting out, and about. I enjoyed a light breakfast today. I had muesli, followed by a bit of scrambled egg and a piece of toast. Enough is enough! Sadly, the coffee was rubbish, but not to worry, I will make that my first stop in Palma!

I left the hotel to go to palma. I stopped to check my map to ensure that I get the right bus, then like magic, directly in front of me, outside my hotel, was a random bus. I crossed the road, yayyyy, it’s going to Palma…. And I haven’t even checked my map yet! Great result! 2 Euros later, I’m on my way!

I didn’t manage to get a seat at first, I was thinking that I’m in for a long stand; then luckily for me, a guy got off at the first stop! So I can sit and enjoy the hornet the rest of the way.
Iv been in a he bus about half an hour; I have my map on, so I know I’m getting near to the here I want to be, as I have no idea where this bus is going, I’m going to take my chances and get off at the next stop. It looks an ok starting place to me!

That was a good choice. As I’m walking though. By the look of the buildings, it looks like I’m heading to the old town. There are lots of steeet cafes. A great place to stop for an iced coffee!

As I wander through, following the flow of the streets, I come across a lovely looking church, and its doors are open. It’s called Basilica de Saint Miquel. It was beautiful inside, as they always are to be honest!

I continue walking to land in Plaza Mayor, a quaint square with restaurants, cafes, and individual crafty type stalls. On to Carrera de Colom, the buildings are so thin to the front end, with an amazing building opposite called St Christo, the window frames are like hand moulded clay!

A short walk further and I see the another church, peeping through, at the end of the street. It is much larger than the last one, but not the Cathedral! It is I continued walking, feeling a little, ‘churched out’. I did carry on walking, but decided to circumnavigate the cathedral.

The street opens up to a wide sea view. The cruise liners are toy left, and in the distance I can see a beach! It’s a sign for me to have a beach break!

I have my tiny Moroccan back pack with me, my trusty Thai wrap, and sun lotion, so I’m good to go! It was such a small bag, with about 6 other people there, perfect. After about an hour, it started to get busy, time for me to leave!

I walked back towards the town, I found a really quiet, out of the way cafe/bar. Sadly, the reason it was so quiet was, it was closing. On to plan B! I know I’m in the right area for the return bus to S’Arenal, so I walk on to find somewhere else in the area. It didn’t take long. This time I opt for iced coffee with ice-cream. It was nice, but I could do whatever tour all the fresh cream dolloped on top! I’m in a good spot to people watch, enjoy my coffee, and am very close to the but route back! Great!

I expected I would stay here until evening, it would s now 4pm, and I feel that my day is done. It’s a two minute walk to the bus, which turned up as I got to the bust stop, and I’m on my way! There were no seats, I practically stood with the driver!

I am robed back at S’Arenal at about 4:30, I decided to cool off in the sea for a while. I did, then on to a bit of sunbathing, but it is so hot, I can’t hack it. I do love a tan, but I’m not prepared to burn for it!

I walked from the beach towards my hotel….. yayyyyy….. baklava cafe!! I knew I would come across it again eventually! So it’s a great time to catch a bit of shade inside, and get another iced coffee with a piece of baklava….. woop woop… happy!

I set off back to the hotel, it is 5:30, so a relaxing hour or two, a much needed shower to get rid of all the sand, and sweat from today! I know it will s uphill back, but today, it seems twice as far, and twice as steep…. ONG, it nearly killed me, it must be the heat today!?I practically fell into the café opposite the hotel, I need shade and ice, in any order. I got a Fanta Lemon with ice, something that I never drink, but it was necessary in that moment!

I got back to my room, and flaked out on the bed! I could have so easily not bothered with tonight, but I do need to eat, so I will have to make the effort! By the time I’d had my shower, and got sorted it was 8:30!

I decided to head down the back roads to eat tonight. I happily got sat at a table (for 4!) and the women shoved a reserved notice on my table! They probably were wanting 4 people to eat, not one! C’est la vie, I get it lady! I moved on. I ended up going on the front, they don’t seem to mind a single eater!

Today I went for the carbonara, honestly, it wasn’t great, but the coffee made up for it, and at least they were happy to have my custom! Tomorrow night, I might try a burger!

I’ve been looking at the map for tomorrow, I’m thinking about the opposite side to where I went today, but there doesn’t seem like there’s much more there. It looks similar to here, lots of shops, restaurants, cafes and beaches, … and a hospital! Maybe it’ll be a beach day!

I’m back at the hotel. I’ve walked 13,448 steps which is about 8.4k. I’m onto episode 8 of Firefly Lane, so that s another day done xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



27th July 2023

Palma.....
Still following you....and love it....enjoy...sleep well.
27th July 2023

See your enjoying yourself no more bloody churches get yourself to calador at the other side of the island two buses one to palm then one to calador enjoy yourself xx

Tot: 0.581s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 54; dbt: 0.3555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb