A little beach rest


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca » s'Arenal
July 25th 2023
Published: July 25th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Mallorca beach week!

Well, this is going to be a very different blog! I do not usually blog in these little trips: but as I’ve had a special request from Kate, I am giving it a go! Kate asked me to do it due to her extreme quality; which is that she is a self-confessed, very nosey person! I honestly can’t imagine how this is going to go! To be fair, I don’t even know what I will blog about, especially as I am travelling solo! But here goes Kate!

To anyone who is not interested, I’ll apologise now for the emails, just delete them! But if you’re enjoying it…. Comment, and let me know!

My morning started very well. I slept in until about 10:30, the perfect beginning to a day! I would have done that on a normal Tuesday, as it is my day off work! I started proceedings with a fried egg sandwich and a cup of builders tea. I had started to watch a Christmas film last night, but as it was getting late, I put the last half an hour on record, so that I could get to bed at a reasonable hour. So as I sat down to enjoy my, lazy morning breakfast, I put the end of the Christmas film on TV. There is nothing quite like a Christmas movie in July! Although, I still have my case to pack! Kate is already sweating on my behalf, on WhatsApp!

The film finished at about 11:30, and I did manage to throw a few bits in my case at the same time as watching the movie! Very proud of myself for being Jobby Jobsworth’ this morning! I’m not leaving for Leeds Bradford Airport until 1:30pm, so I have plenty of time! Stop sweating it Kate!

I just need to finish the packing, sort out what I need in my handbag, check the flight and parking details, and get dressed, then I’m good to go! That’s one of the benefits of travelling solo, there is no one, or nothing else to worry about, or consider, but yourself!

I was completely done by 12:50, so plenty of time to spare! I jumped into my car at 1pm; I just need to get a sandwich, a Costa coffee, and a chocolate treat to see me through the rest of my day. I stopped off in Hessle Square to get my provisions. I must confess, I couldn’t resist a lovely looking piece of coconut slice in the sandwich shop. A saying from my sister Julie springs to my mind, ‘A minute on the lips, adds inches to the hips!’ Oh well, never mind; i obviously ignored that advice. …. And I’m off!

The traffic around the Goole area was horrendous…. I couldn’t decide if it was because people are flicking to get to Goole, or is it because they are all getting out! It was neither, just regular M62 roadworks, as usual!

The he traffic for the rest of my drive flowed quite well. I arrived at the airport at my planned tome of 3pm. It was an easy journey, with no hiccups.
I feel now that I was too keen to get there as the wait at the airport seemed endless. Although the 40 minute delay didn’t help. I sat and ate my sandwich, and washed it down with another coffee.

Finally, we are boarding the plane at 5:50. I am in boarding group B which is the front half of the plane, so we got on first, closely followed by group A. It was a quick smooth transaction. We were all seated by 6:10, and ready to go.

I got comfy in my seat; I’m the odd seat with a family of 5. The little lad took one look at me, then threw his Dad under the bus. Dad lost, he had to sit next to me! I was asleep in about 10 minutes. I woke up to lots of people now standing around in the isle. What on earth did I miss. I blankly looked around, but I couldn’t make sense of it! I had to turn around and ask the girls seated behind me as the Dad and lad were in the queue!

Apparently, a piece of hold luggage has lost its sticker! The flight is being held up until it is located, the captain has invited all of the children to have a look at the cockpit. I mean, that’s good of him really!
Out of boredom, as clearly, I’m not getting to view the cockpit, I chomped down on my coconut slice! It was a good as I had expected! It looks like we could be here for a while!

I got comfy, and went back to sleep! When the woke up the next time, we were in the air, and on our way. I woke up stone deaf. It is what happens to my ears when I fly. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m quite deaf, or if it happens to normal hearing people too. I’m used to it, so decided to enjoy the peace as there are a lot of kids on here. They don’t bother me any way, but given I have the choice, I’ll enjoy the peace for a while longer! When I’m ready to pop my hearing back on, I just need to take a good, gulping drink of water! But there’s no rush!

I decided to settle in to a bit of viewing on my iPad. I always download a series that I want to watch, and a few movies, then I can always amuse myself, one way or another. Especially if the TV is in German, or Spanish! I’m going to watch Firefly Lane which I downloaded from Netflix for my last trip, but didn’t get time to watch it!

The drinks and food came round, so I had a little drink interval, which was good timing, and very convenient! I had a coffee, possibly the worst coffee ever, but a bad coffee is better than no coffee in my book!
I only managed episodes 1 & 2 before we were preparing to land. I guess all the snoozing I’ve been doing has helped the time pass! It was straight forward through the airport, although I did have a bit of a panic on at the passport desk as I couldn’t find a blank page! I’m due to renew it in about 8 months, so it’s quite full, luckily I did find the last clear page just in time!

As I walked through, collected my case, and headed for the door…. I hear it…. Torrential downpour! At first I was quite disheartened, but you know how this works, it never lasts as long as it does at home! I shared a transfer taxi with 2 girls from York, although they didn’t speak, so that’s all I got! I arrived at my hotel, I’m saving judgement for tomorrow, as it is wet, dark and late. I’m on the 7th floor in a twin room, which is ok as there are 3 lifts, it looks huge! The room is ok, it’s just got a bit of a fusty smell, hopefully that’ll go now I’ve opened the balcony door. I’ve unpacked, am in bed, ready for another episode of Firefly before I wrap up for the night. I’m looking forward to having a good look around tomorrow.


Advertisement



26th July 2023

have a great time and looking forward to reading about your hols
27th July 2023

Well done Andrea
Yayyy, you managed a response! Every day is a school day … ha ha

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb