July 8 2014 Skofja Loka - Kamnik


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia
July 8th 2014
Published: May 28th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I woke this morning and eagerly logged on to read the overnight comments. However, I was gutted to find that there were none. Not even one :-(. It was only later in the day that I I discovered that this was because I hadn't published the blog! (nuphy)

An easy flat cycle today from Skofja Loka - Godešič - Reteče - Zbilje - Vodice - Moste to Kamnik. The names won't mean much to anybody but should I or any other touring cyclist decide to travel these roads again they'll be aware of what the roads are like.

On arriving in Kamnik we called in to the local tourist information centre and got directions to the hostel. Whilst in the centre of town we decided to have a brew. Throughout the entire journey we have had difficulty ordering the correct drinks. One coke and one large cappuccino turns into large coke and small cappuccino or two cappuccinos and a coke. Consequently today I decided to order a tea and a cappuccino. We didn't even complicate the order by asking for a large cappuccino. No problems we thought..... Wrong!!! Cappuccino was delivered without an issue however my tea was bloody pink! Pink no less. Rather like the colour of Ribena which seeped from a bag containing 400 different flowers and herbs. Bugger me! It tasted like all gods creatures had peed on those flowers and herbs as well. Been a true Yorkshire man who is generally as tight as a camel's backside in a sandstorm I continued to drink the concoction. Mind you after half a cup even the thought of wasting one Euro was soon overcome by the somersaults my guts were doing as each sip did a jig at the back of my throat before it finally gave in and was swallowed. I couldn't finish the brew!!

We did a few laps of the town in an effort to find the hostel and finally gave in when we booked in to a bed and breakfast at Pri Cesarju. We spoke at length with the owner's son, Frank, who was a wealth of knowledge. During the conversation, Igor, a client of the pub noticed my strong Australian accent (no shit, fair dinkum) and stated that he had relatives who worked in Victoria. It turned out that I knew his relative. Small world lol.

Gus and I went out for dinner to a restaurant recommended by Frank called Majolka. Not quite Slovenian food but beautiful all the same.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb