Arrivo in Bologna..


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
September 18th 2016
Published: September 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 44.4944, 11.3492

I've arrived safe and sound, was surprised to see our friends at the train station in Venice as I thought they were leaving before me, but no, we actually were on the same train! So it was good to see them again for a little bit.

Pretty uneventful train ride, it's only about an hour and a half from Venice to Bologna by the Frecciarossa (fast speed) Train, it actually didn't go that fast as it slowed down for some towns and I think Bolognas was the 3rd stop so we may have gotten to top speed for just a little bit. Found the official taxi stand after asking a Polizia, the taxi driver was kind enough to call my apt manager and let him know I was on the way. Taxi cost a few pennies less than 8 euros, super nice to get dropped off at the door when you don't know the city!
He dropped me off at a dubious looking place, at least it seemed like it at first. Lots of the surrounding doors were shuttered since it's Sunday, we'll see what it looks like tomorrow morning. I actually think it's in a desirable part of town, sometimes looks can be deceiving. The garbage cans are located in front of it so that doesn't make it look any better, but they have to go somewhere.
Frederico, the manager, showed me around the very small apt. It's a studio, sofa bed and then an ottoman that folds out to be a twin sized bed. I'm going to be trying that as I really don't like the idea of opening and closing the sofa bed every day. I'll see how my back likes it and will change if needed. Whoever did the photos for the website did an amazing job, because in real life it has a passing similarity but it's not as shiny as the website makes it out to be, so I was a bit disappointed by that. I've unpacked and made it my home away from home now so will no doubt get used to it. I think I'm just lonely after having Jim with me on this trip. Definitely will come alone first and then have Jim or a friend join me as I am not liking the reverse....

After Frederico left and I explored the apt some more, discovered that some shelves were broken and lights burned out, so he will be coming back tomorrow to fix them. Made a grocery list and supply list for the next two weeks, garbage bags, laundry soap, etc... And then, of course, some food, need to do a bit of detoxing off of the carbs I've been enjoying!

Very nicely there is a grocery store literally right across the street from me, super handy! It's called PAM Local and they have their own brand which is the cheaper probably generic version of different items. Found some buffalo mozzarella there for 2,90 euros instead of 36! So bought one of those, some tomatoes and basil for a delicious dinner tonight, right up my alley.

After bringing everything back "home" I went out exploring how long it may take me to walk to my school in the morning. It's pretty much a "straight" shot (though nothing here is straight) as far as staying on the main drag and not going off onto the side streets to get there. I was totally sidetracked though as there was a street fair going on, with demonstrations all over the place. Photos to follow. I stopped into a couple of churches that are on the way, will find out what their names are later and will explore them in the next couple of weeks. It really looks like a medieval / Renaissance town so I'm looking forward to learning the history of it over the next couple of weeks.

Got caught in an absolute downpour with no umbrella or rain jacket! This city though is renowned for it's covered loggia's / or covered sidewalks and they really came in handy today! Will keep my umbrella in the little backpack I'll be carrying my books to school in from now on. I'm pretty sure I found the bus stop I will need to take to the school, not sure how long it will take to get there so tomorrow will be a bit of an experiment. Bought a couple of bus tickets from the Tabacchi so am all set...

Came back to the apt by 6 ish, ate dinner after getting wet in the rain, did some reviewing of my Italian, ready or not here I come...

Will post the photos now and will try to get to bed at an earlier hour so I can go stand at the bus stop and not miss it hopefully!

A presto and ciao,
Wendy

p.s. Earlier I heard lots of happy shouting and yelling below my apt, I think there was a soccer match, Italy must have won ;-)

steps: 11,472 as of 9:10 pm
Flights: 11
miles: 4.94



Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb