Ciao Venezia...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
September 18th 2016
Published: September 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 45.4345, 12.3384

It's 9:45 am here in Venice, had my breakfast, ready to go and all packed up. Just took the garbage down to the courtyard and am now waiting to take off. Don't need to get to the train station toooo early as I'll just have to wait there. Will leave here at 10:30 that leaves me 2 hours to drag my stuff to the vaporetto stop, ride the vaporetto for 1/2 hour to 45 minutes, find the correct area to catch my train and wait some more ;-)

Feeling much better about the situation in Bologna, happy to have firm plans in place. I guess I really don't like to fly by the seat of my pants too much! I thought I was open to that but this really had me unsettled so I pretty much like some structure and plans and a little wiggle room in there is fine.... Anyway, you get the point. Another lesson learned is if a company I'm trying to work with doesn't communicate well in the beginning, it's not going to get better and I should just move on to the next one that will. So if I decide to do this again, I'll be keeping that bit of info in mind ;-)

Met a couple from Portland that took my picture as we were going to get on the vaporetto, I must pack lighter, after over a week here I have clothes I haven't needed. We'll see how it goes over the next two weeks.

Will check in after I get to my apartment in Bologna!
Ciao,
Wendy


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



18th September 2016

Thankful you have a nice apartment in Bologna, Wendy. Hope you enjoy the classes and classmates there, too.When you talk about packing up and dragging your stuff to the vaporetto, was curious how much luggage (ie clothes) you brought with y
ou. Your wardrobe has looked nice, not the same thing every day, obviously. Maybe should have had side-by-side pics of your bag and Jim's one week luggage. I know how it goes in my house. ;) Enjoy the next part of the adventure!
18th September 2016

Hi Kathy, I brought 3 pair of pants, 2 sweaters, 1 light jacket, 2 dresses, 2 skirts , 5 short sleeved shirts and 1 long sleeved, pj's, and another long sleeved 1/4 zip layer piece, lace up shoes, and sandals, 6-8 pair of under wear, socks,
etc.. Having a washer cuts the need for so many and I was thinking if I cut it down maybe could get by with out the smaller carry on... Would be nice when I'm hauling them up and down stairs ;-) but with the weather variable, you never know what you need. But maybe I could cut down on a sweater and a shirt or two, probaby not enough to cut out the other bag... But will really inventory what I use and what I don't!So nice to hear from you, I hope all is going well at your house and with your family!
18th September 2016

Thanks for the pic and the packing list, Wendy...helpful! So did you guys get by without paying for a bag or not?
19th September 2016

Sorry if I got too inquisitive, you don't have to answer about the bag fees if you don't want to. :) Just trying to figure out for future travels if a combo like you had counts as two free carryons. Hard to keep it to one with weather and e
vent variables.
19th September 2016

No bag fees, both are considered carryons, at least from the US. Last year the larger one was too big for Alitalia so they made me check it for free. I stick my purse in the smaller one for boarding purposes. I don't mind the questions, bet
ter now while I can still remember the answers!
19th September 2016

That's what you said last time! :)

Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb