Update on School & Jim's Trip Home


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
September 17th 2016
Published: September 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 45.4345, 12.3384

Update on Jim and the Scuola situation!

Just confirmed everything with the school, I have an apartment, will either bus or walk, on Google maps its a 30-minute walk to the school so not too bad, last year it was a 20-minute walk, I guess I'll get my steps in! This seems to be the best situation, it's a sofa bed for 2 weeks so hopefully, it won't kill my back. Going in with a good attitude and hoping for the best! Will try to put in a link to the apartment, it looks nice. http://www.halldis.com/property/san-felice-4118#dateFrom=18092016&dateTo=01102016&adults=1

Update on Jim: We were going to leave the apt at 7 to get him to the Piazzale Roma bus station but decided to leave at 6:30, so of course got out of here at 6:40 walked to the vaporetto stop, did a little back and forth before finding the correct one to take the #1 to the bus stop. You cannot be in a hurry and take these things, there were I think, 10 stops before his so it was good we left when we did. We actually saw his bus, the #5 to the airport, from the vaporetto so I just was going to stay on it and ride it back, but that was literally the end of the line and the staff were getting off and so had me get off too ;-). I then tried to catch up with Jim to say one last goodbye but saw him hop on the bus so waved to it as it was leaving, don't know if he saw me or not, but am assuming he made it safe and sound to the airport and onto the airplane.
We decided that we really didn't like the parting here, he didn't like leaving me in a situation where we weren't sure what I was going to be doing and I didn't like it either! But it is working out and next time, if there is one, I'll come first and he'll join me so then we can go home together.

I decided to not ride the vaporetto back, I had to call the school at 9 and left Jim at the bus at about 7:40 so had plenty of time to walk and decided to. It took about 45 minutes to walk from the Piazzale Roma bus station to St. Marks square, literally from one end of the city to the other. They have signs directing you to either the Rialto or San Marco, just follow them and if you are unsure, as I was, 2 times, just stop in a caffe and ask! It was nice to walk through much of the city that I've not been in. Saw teens with backpacks on going to school, yes, school on Saturday! I think it's just a half day, but there it is.... Saw younger kids with a sort of uniform on going to school, girls wearing a blue coat/smock with a personalized name or symbol on the upper left chest area but the ones I saw were all navy blue with a little white Peter Pan collar, and they all had their mamma's with them.

Got back to the apt took a short nap before calling the school, frantic emails back and forth, several phone calls to the school and then to the apt manager. I have arranged to meet them at 2:30 at the address given me. So all is well and settled, I am sure I will enjoy my time. Thank you to anyone that prayed for me and the situation, God is good and has of course taken care of me again! It was a bit scary for me but am happy everything is resolved.

I'm going to go do some more walking and visit other parts of the city, will be in before dark and enjoy my last day in Venezia before packing up and heading out in the morning. I don't have to leave until about 10:30 or 11:00 and even at that I'll be at the train station plenty early for my 12:25 departure, Will arrive in Bologna at 13:50, take a taxi to the apt and then learn the new landscape ;-). I've been told the apt is in a very good area to be in so that is good.

A presto and ciao,
Wendy

Updated: 9:40 - 10:19pm

Went out for a nice long walk, wanted to find the archives and a church that Jim thought looked interesting but we didn't have a chance to go to. Got on a vaporetto first and got off at Rialto, walked from there using the map I have and eventually found the Frari Church, it has huge monuments inside to famous people. After poking my head inside I realized I had been there before and didn't feel like paying the 3 euros to see it again.... Went over to the archive building as on our Secret Itineraries tour they mentioned all the documents from the Doge Palace were there, I thought perhaps they were on display of some sort but it's only for students and officials (I think, the gal spoke no inglese....).

I enjoyed my walk through the area, decided to get on the vaporetto again to see the Academia area and walked along the water and saw the "Salute" church, they built it in gratefulness for the plague going away. I also walked past the place where I stayed on my first visit with my parents in 2007, took some photos of the area for us to remember that trip by, will post them below.

Got back on the vaporetto to St. Marks, got a couple of rolls to use up the meat and cheese I have here for lunches tomorrow and the next day.... Took another walk along the canal towards the Arsenale, used several of the water closet tickets we had purchased, those came in handy. They can be hard to find even with the signs up, but it can be done! Purchased my vaporetto ticket for tomorrow so I'm all set to go, pretty much just walked the day away after getting Jim off to the bus and the school situation resolved. Came back to the apt around 5 did some packing and cleaning up, caught up on emails, etc... Now will upload photos and head off to bed!

While I was out and about I thought about my mentioning the vaporetto's and their stops, etc... So took photos of those everyday kinds of things (when you're here it's "every day" - but unusual when you aren't), so you can see what I was talking about if you're interested.

Steps: 22,032!! Flights:24 Miles: 9.49

As you can see I did a lot of walking today! There wasn't much else to do, it was kind of boring to not have Jim here....

Ciao,
Wendy



Additional photos below
Photos: 67, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

AgainAgain
Again

You can see I'm a bit bored so am fixating on some of the details of life around me ;-)


17th September 2016

Thanks Wendy for the updates and pictures on your blog. I'm enjoying reading about your adventures and seeing all of the great pictures. I'm experiencing Italy vicariously through your travels. Glad to hear that your housing need is met, wh
ile you are in language school. I'm praying for your safety and that you will continue to have a wonderful vacation. God bless you friend! Sharon
17th September 2016

So glad everything is working out for your lodging, praying for a safe and fun journey for both of you.
17th September 2016

Thank you Sharon and Cindi for praying! It's great to hear from you, nice to hear from home! Just added some more photos.

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb