1st Day at Scuola....


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
September 19th 2016
Published: September 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 44.4944, 11.3492

Well, I won't be writing much today. Didn't really sleep last night on my little ottoman fold out single bed. It was hard as a rock and I pretty much tossed from one sore hip to the other all night.... Asked for more sheets so I could try out the sofa bed tonight, hopefully, it will be more comfortable.

Climbed out of bed a little before 6, got ready to go, took a shower in another of the world's smallest showers with the plastic curtain sticking to me... Sorry, this is a bit of a whine, you may stop reading here if you want.

Out the door by 8:05? Wanted to have plenty of time before the bus came at 8:30 (I thought)... Anyway I see people waiting not too far from my door at what I hadn't noticed was a bus stop yesterday, I look and the #13 (my bus) is coming, it's there at 8:10 ish? Hop on, confirm it's going to where I need it too and the bus driver helps me know when to get off the bus.

As I don't know how to access the building I wait outside for a few minutes until someone wants to go in, I ask if they're with the school so I go in with them and they show me the way. After a written test where I feel not nearly as well prepared as I wish I was, I am then given an oral test and feel even worse.... Then get put into a class where there will be no English spoken for explanations, etc.... The first 2 hours will be grammar, 10-minute break, then the 2nd two-hour block will be conversation, then a 45 min - 1-hour break and then an optional afternoon class, which today was 2 hours of phonics. So after 6 hours of immersion my brain is pretty much fried, I'm lonely and want to go home at this point. Getting back on the bus I get let off on a different street because the bus driver tells me this is the one, it isn't, but I'm only one street over so can easily walk there, hopefully, tomorrow I can get off at the right bus stop.

Came "home" checked emails, went to the tabacchi store and bought a ten ticket pass for the bus, it will get me through the week and weekend I think, 12 euros vs 1,20-1,50 per ticket. Super handy it's also right across the street next to the grocery store. Got some more groceries came back, felt sorry for myself, and did homework.... Sorry for the whining!!! Just feeling overwhelmed, I'm sure tomorrow will be a better day, hopefully, my head will start accepting Italian and not struggle with it so much. I actually enjoy doing the homework, I guess because here it is quiet, I can think it through and I'm not "on the spot" as in class, which when your brain isn't used to thinking in a foreign language can be hard to do at times. Oh well, that's the first day, probably shouldn't have even started writing here.....

On a more positive note, I have met 3 young people from Palestine, 1 from Australia, 1 from Japan, 1 from Ireland, 1 from Montana (here with his wife in another class) I know another one is from Israel, and I'm not sure about the rest yet. Went out for "caffe" with the older than me gal from Austrailia and the very young gal from Palestine, we may (along with someone I haven't met yet) go out for dinner together tomorrow night. It was super nice to get invited right off the bat, no doubt getting to know some people and to speak some English will be helpful to my state of mind!

I also signed up for the Saturday excursion to Padova.

I'm off to bed now, just had a great FaceTime visit with Adrienne and her two, and a phone chat with Jim, so feeling a bit more connected to home.

Only a few steps today: 4,484, flights: 11, miles:1.95 riding the bus won't be doing me any favors in the steps department!

Ciao,
Wendy


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb