Day 42 - First day alone for a while- Newtown and a meal with friends


Advertisement
Oceania
April 2nd 2024
Published: April 2nd 2024
Edit Blog Post

Today is my first day of exploring on my own. Bernard is at work today, so I’ll catch him later. I woke up naturally at 8:30. I think that both Bernard and Gavin left quite early, but I didn’t hear anything!!

I am very accustomed to exploring on my own, but Bernard is looking after me so well, it’s more difficult to start again on my own. I’m a big girl, it’s only ever the first couple of steps that seem difficult, then you’re off. It’s like riding a bike.. ha ha.

I set off the first time, yes, you read that right! When I went through the door, key, lift, and postbox scenario,(which I’ve practiced several times) I was all good, and the I was ready to go, but I hadn’t noticed the rain!! I had put really light coloured shorts on, not the best option in the rain. I went back through my routine, all good, back to the apartment, changed my shorts. At this point, I decided I’d eat my banana now, then I don’t have to find a bin five minutes further down the street!

I set off for the second time, all key and door processes done. The rain is very fine now, so I’m good to go! I’m feeling fairly confident as I stroll down the street to the train station. It’s a 3 minute walk, so easy! I had a 2 minute wait, perfect timing…. Which has been a reoccurring thing with Bernard and I…. I do question, is that because we are lucky, or is it because Sydney has a very effective network system compared to what I’m used to? That’s definitely a consideration! It’s only 2 stops to Newtown, so the journey was very easy!

Newtown is known its quirky, bohemian spirit. It is where you can find eclectic vintage shopping, iconic arts and theatre spaces, and a renowned dining and drinking scene. Adorned with beautifullyrestored 19th-century terrace houses and street art, this vibrant inner Sydney neighbourhood attracts artists and foodies alike. I think when we passed through here a few days ago, I likened it to Newland/Princes Ave area. (If you know Hull!)

I sauntered along for a while, my first stop will be breakfast. There are many shops, but I think they may have a later open time than I was expecting, but finally I came across Chill’s Cafe. It’s got a funky vibe, 2 out of the 4 walls were open sided, it’ll do nicely for me.

I ordered scrambled eggs, smoked salmon, toast and a cup of black Earl. It was everything I wanted. Perfect! I finished my breakfast, but now,the rain is here!!!

I walked up the street to look in the vintage shops. I’m looking for some sports shorts for my Vicious Cycle class tomorrow. I went into one shop, I found the perfect slogan vest. It had , ‘Cardiac hates me’, slapped across the front!! It’s actually too small for me,but I bought it, and sent a photo to Bernard, just to wind him up .. ha ha The guy in the shop was really chatty, and welcoming. He loved my flat, boring, Yorkshire accent. His Mum was from Barnsley, so my voice made him reminisce. I stayed there for about 20 minutes, Just chatting with him!

I moved on to look for the park, but I’m a bit unsure if this rain will stop. I decided to buy an emergency poncho, just in case it gets any worse. The next shop that I stopped at was the nail shop. I just want nail polish on, so it’s a quick, and easy job. I thought it was appropriate as we are meeting Angelika, Timo and Charles for a nice dinner tonight. My nails are pretty good at the moment due to me not participating in real life for the last 42 days!

My other intention today is to keep walking, and visit Sydney Park in Newtown.

As I got near, I saw some huge towers nearby. They are the chimneys of huge kilns that sit below them, where bricks made from the clay excavated from the surrounding land were fired, and are remnants of the huge brickmaking industry

Sydney Park is made of 40 hectares of lush grass, landscaped gardens, rolling hills, meandering pathways and picturesque wetlands. Creeks flow throughout the park and attract all different types of birds. There are plenty of perfectly placed viewing decks that encourage you to take it all in. It is a very dog friendly area, the dogs don’t need a lead. I was a bit nervous at first, as there are quite a lot around. Thankfully, the ones that I came across were very passive. I did walk for quite a while, quite happily in my poncho, in light rain. Looking at the maps that are placed all around the park, I’m certain that I only covered a very small part of it! I decided I’d seen as much as I wanted to, so headed off back to the busy retail/café area on King Street. It’s time for coffee and cake!

It’s about 3pm, I’ve had a good walk today, and managed to see, and do everything on my list, so heading for the train station to return to Bernard’s apartment. That will give me chance to shower, and relax, before tonight’s evening meal out with Angelika, Timo, and Charles. I’m looking forward to catching up with them.

It’s now 4:30, I’m showered, and relaxing with a cup of tea. Bernard is expecting to be home around 5:15.

Bernard came home, he relaxed a while, I was still relaxing, then… bang… and we’re off for dinner. I
So excited to see everyone! We’re having dinner at a really good restaurant on Circular Quay called Cafe Sydney. Bernard and I arrived first, but we were soon joined by the others.

We had the best meal of the tour, and the service was second to none. Honestly, I can’t do it justice! It was so good seeing everyone, catching up with what we’ve all been doing in Sydney, then following that with what is coming next! Aw, it was an amazing meal, in an amazing restaurant, with amazing views…. And most importantly, amazing people.

After the meal we went on for one last drink at the Opera Bar. It was bittersweet, as this is the end…. For now. I’ll definitely be going to Munich in the future! We had one last photo shoot on the Opera House steps before saying our last goodbyes…. Until next time xxxx

Bernard and I got home around midnight, just before we turned into pumpkins!


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



2nd April 2024

Great photo's Lesley. Love the ones at the Opera House.
3rd April 2024

Hi Jo
Honestly, the whole trip had been surreal! Xxx

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb