Day 43 - An easy, late start, with a Vicious end!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » CBD
April 3rd 2024
Published: April 3rd 2024
Edit Blog Post

Last night was such an epic end to the tour. I was so emotionally high throughout the night, but then you hit such a low, afterwards. It’s a rollercoaster for sure!

It was our latest night yet, but that, coupled with emotions, I am totally drained today! I woke up a few times, just to drink water, and turn over in bed. I didn’t wake up properly until about 10:30! My first thoughts went out to Bernard; he was up, and out for work at the crack of dawn this morning!

I got showered, and got dressed. Then I spent a while sorting out clothes for today, clothes and bits for the vicious cycle class, and clothes for afterwards. That simple task practically scrambled my brain! I ate a banana, and a cereal bar, just to help me move. It took me a good 2 hours to get from bed to street! I’m so pleased that I’m not a, ‘hair and make up’, type of person; if I were, I would not have made it out the door today!

I passed a few catch up messages with Bernard, just to check in. I said to him, I feel like I’m having a phantom hangover. I actually don’t drink alcohol, but on very odd occasions, when it feels right, I will have one drink! Last night, I had one glass of Bailey’s over ice. So, based on that, this is definitely a phantom hangover, not a real one! It’s probably more due to the emotional roller coaster, and the late night!

So I finally made it out of the apartment. My plans are non existent today! But I do need to consider my day. I’ve decided to work it backwards, because the only thing that is set in stone is my Vicious Cycle Class tonight at 6:30.

On one hand, I have the fear of God in me when I think about doing it! But on the other, I feel that it is such a huge part of Bernard’s life, so it is important that I push my boundaries, and total lack of any physical exercise need that I have, aside!!!

I came to visit Bernard, to get to know him, fill in both of our life gaps, and experience his life, from his eyes and heart. Vicious Cycle is a big part of that. It’s an important part of his lifestyle, his social circle, and it’s what makes him buzz, so to understand and feel that, is why it’s important for me to do this class. But just to confirm, I do have grave concerns for myself…. Ha ha! From what I have seen on videos, this stuff is high level intensity for someone like me!!! Another reason that I feel the need to do it is that I do regret not doing the ice-baths with Ella when I was with her in Sri Lanka, just because I didn’t want the hassle of getting changed. It was an opportunity that I missed to share that with Ella. Retrospectively, I’m sorry that I didn’t do it. I don’t want to feel that again. I’ve learnt from that, so I’m in…. Regardless!

So working backwards, to allow time for changing my clothes, and having intro time, I need to be there before 6pm. I will make my activity today be in the Central area, then I can allow 15 minutes to get there.

I’m currently having brunch at The Counter. It is a cafe literally 3 minutes from Bernard’s apartment! it’s already 2pm. It’ll take me half an hour to get to the centra area. I just need a three and a half hour activity to fill the gap! There, plan done! I’ve allowed more time than I actually need, as it’s a very flexible plan! To be honest, it’s taken me half an hour to eat one half of a toastie, so far!

I headed off to find Petersham Park. I start by going down a dodgy, but brightly painted, underground passage! I followed my map, and arrived, as expected, about 15 minutes later. It’s a really quiet, and tranquil area.

I continued walking around, then through the park, which led me to a really busy road area, so I decided to catch a bus towards the Central area.

I followed my map to the nearest bus stop. caught a bus heading towards the harbour area. I know this one doesn’t go all the way, but I’ll get off on the last stop, and readjust my mapping!

The last stop was The Domain area, which to be honest, doesn’t mean much to me, but it looks interesting, and worth a walkabout.

The first thing I saw was St Mary’s Cathedral. It is the spiritual home of Sydney's Catholic community. It’s big, and beautiful, and surrounded by many Asian tourists. There’s also a wedding photo shoot being done on the stairs. I had a short rest whilst I spoke with Ella on the phone. Then I continued on.

I was very close to Sydney Tower Eye, also known as Centre Point Tower and The Golden Bucket. It is the tallest structure in Sydney.

The next place of interest was The Hyde Park Barracks. I decided to go inside. It’s actually free too! Bonus!
The Hyde Park Barracks is a heritage-listed former barracks, hospital, convict accommodation, mint and courthouse, and now a museum in Sydney. It was a really interesting viewing. I’ve already had my eyes opened to the atrocities that occurred here by the Colonists. This experience sadly backed up, and added to my prior knowledge. Therefore,enforcing that knowledge. It’s shocking what occurred here over many years! But evidencing historical events, raising awareness, and talking about it, is a good thing.

I came out of the barracks, went across the road into Hyde Park which is considered to be in the heart of Sydney, and is the oldest public parkland in Australia. It’s another, very well maintained, beautiful park area with lots of English-ness around it.

Time is moving on. I checked my map to find that I am only about 5 minute walk to Vicious. It’s getting dangerously close to becoming real! I
headed off the Starbucks on the for r for a dead man’s last request… cappuccino! I did think my last days would be something like…. Death by chocolate, death by coffee and cake, but I think it’s looking like… death by bike!

Here goes..,. I’m going in!

Well, that was better than I could have imagined!
Bernard made a real effort to make sure my cycle was a good fit, and made sure that I was comfortable with everything. I met Kevin, a friend of Bernard’s, just before the class started, that helped me to feel more comfortable too. I had previously met Tom, the instructor, so this all helped with me settling in, because I was really nervous beforehand!
Before we got started, Tom made sure that the new riders knew what their aims should be, and not to over push ourselves. He continued to say that during the class. Therefore, when the other riders did extra fancy stuff, I didn’t feel the need to kill myself. I wasn’t as fast as the regular riders, but I did hold my own, throughout the 45 minute class. I still had Angelika in my ear, so I paced myself all the time, therefore I was able to do the full class without stopping pedalling. I was able to complete all of the arm exercises with the hand weights…. Without falling off the cycle. I came out feeling very chuffed with myself! I think Bernard was proud of me too!

After the class, Bernard, Kevin and I went to the pub nearby for a drink. I must point out though, mine was alcohol free! It was great to have had the first introduction to Kevin before, then during the class, then have some social time after the class. That’s more integration with Bernard’s friends today. We all had a good laugh, and a chat about cycling classes, and life stuff in general. Tomorrow night we are having a night out together, so we were able discussed our plans for that too.

We left at about 9:15, as they are both at work tomorrow. Bernard and I got the train home, whilst Kevin got the bus to his home. We arrived back at the apartment at about 9:30pm. I got straight on with my shower, put my pjs on, and worked on finishing my blog for the day, whilst Bernard cracked on in the kitchen with dinner. Bless him. He’s doing a great job on the mess! Tonight we are having Mumbai cauliflower currie with garlic rice and bamboo shoots.

Dinner was a hit again at chez Bernard. It’s now past 11pm, so it’s a cup of tea before bed!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



3rd April 2024

Wow you've done it! Amazing read once again. Loving the pics of you both ❤ xx
4th April 2024

Vicious
I was so anxious, … just stepping out of my comfort zone … but it was so worthwhile xxx

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb