Day 44 - The Rocks and Drag night out


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » The Rocks
April 4th 2024
Published: April 4th 2024
Edit Blog Post

I did set the alarm for 9am this morning, but actually woke up naturally at 8:40. I was so ready for my bed last night! I was the apprehensive all day about the cycle class. As it turned out, for no reason, but hindsight is a wonderful thing. Don’t get me wrong, it was hard work, but I actually enjoyed it.

So today is a new day! I thought I might ache, but I think that all the walking, and knowing how to pace myself, allowed me to participate at my level, and enjoy it! So no aches today.

I’m going to keep the walking going today. Bernard is at work, so I’m out exploring on my own. As always the first job for me is to have breakfast. I decided to get the train into Circular Quay, have a walk around to select where I want to eat. I have learnt that many people research where to eat, I like to walk by, read the menu, then decide. If they sell what I fancy to eat, I’ll stop there.

The rain came down! I was close to McDonald’s ; I’m generally, not a lover of the food, except for the breakfast! At home, I periodically do enjoy a sausage and egg muffin, either a hash brown. Ad it is raining down hard, I decided to have a try!

Well, I ate it, but didn’t enjoy it like I do at home. That will be my first, and last visit! But at east I’ve eaten!

I continued heading towards The Rocks, which is my plan for today. I came across The Nurse’s Ealk, it doesn’t look much, but I decided to have a nosey! It is a narrow alley tucked behind the Museum of Contemporary Art (MCA). It is one of Sydney's oldest laneways, steeped in history. There are plaques along the narrow lanes telling of historical tales.

Continuing on up lots of steps, I arrived at Susannah Place. It was built by immigrants, and this terrace of four tiny houses stands as a resilient reminder. It has been home to more than 100 families over 150 years. Built by Irish immigrants in 1844, it has survived largely unchanged through the slum clearances, and redevelopments of the past century, and today tells the stories of the working families who called this place and this neighbourhood home. Sadly, the tour slots were fully booked, but I had a good chat with the girl in the shop,

I stopped at a random bar nearby for a rain rest, and coffee stop. It was good th get out of the rain for a while! I went to the toilet before I set of walking again. They had the loveliest fire pace…. In the toilets! That was a nice surprise!

As I got my poncho back on, and brolly at the ready, I noticed that I am right at the foot of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. How could I have not noticed that! I crossed the road, curiously walked up the steps, to find a pedestrian walkway to cross over to North Sydney. Why not just do it?

So off I went again. It’s great to be protected by my poncho and brolly, but it’s hard word walking over the bridge in this weather! I persevered, because it’s worth it!

It was actually much shorter than I had imagined. I know it’s not quite the same as walking over the very top parts of the bridge, but it still provides spectacular views of the city and harbour.

The rain is starting to get the better of me now. I’ve been walking in it for around 5 hours. I’ve decided to cut loose for today. I’ve decided to get the train back to the apartment. I will have a few hours downtime, before tonight’s exciting night out!

Well, that didn’t quite work out! I looked around the area, considered the travel back options, then ended up walking back across the bridge. I had only done about 6000 steps today, my aim is to do 10000, so walking it is!

I’m now back on Circular Quay. I can finally take off the poncho, and put the brolly away. The rain had finally stopped! The poncho certainly makes you sweat! I’m on the return train to Petersham. I’ve hit the 10000 steps, so I’m ready to relax!

I managed about an hour, just laid on my bed. I really wanted a little snooze, but it just didn’t happen. At about 4:30, I got showered and dressed ready to get the train to Newtown to meet with. Rematch and Kevin for an Egyptian meal before Drag Bingo tonight! Eeek… excited. I love a bit of Drag!

First we are going for dinner at an Egyptian Cafe called Cairo in Newtown. We had a mixed table of dishes to share all round. It was really relaxed. We sat outside to eat, it’s cooler, but not cold. We chatted away throughout the meal. The food was good. It was a nice meal to start our night. It’s also nice have the opportunity to get to know Kevin a bit more.

Dinner done, now it’s time the bit I’ve been waiting for. We are going to The Imperial Erskineville for Drag Bingo. This venue famously appeared in the cult classic movie The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert.

The advert states: Feeling lucky? It’s time to drop your balls at the Impy with our legendary lady, Keira Billie.

We arrived in good time. I’m on the alcohol free beer, the lads are both drinking. The pens were already set out on our table. They are definitely a bit different. Ha ha. Here we go! The first game started…. Kevin only went and won the first game!!! He won a jug of beer! She had a couple of jibes at Kevin.. but that’s part of the fun!

The bingo went well, we were all able to mark our books. Although when it was time to go to the bar, we had to double up to watch each other’s books to make sure we got the numbers! Sadly, we only got the one win! At this type of bingo, that’s not always a bad thing. Three people called out, at the same time on one of the games… they had to lip sync!!

Keira did her thing, she called the numbers, and entertained us at the same time. She got a bit over the top with her humour at times, but she’s supposed to, that’s the whole point of Drag bingo! To be honest, she was much milder than I was expecting!

Regardless, we all did enjoy the evening, and I did have a beer too! It was a shame really, because the bingo ended much earlier than we had expected, she seemed to cut it short. Then, as a result of the bingo finishing early, the pub emptied fairly soon after. This left the pub with no atmosphere!

At this point, we moved on to another pub called The Bank. There was more atmosphere here! The three of us all got a drink, even me….. I’m now onto my 2nd beer, which is very rare, but we were all just chatting on, and having a good time!

I’ve really enjoyed the night. It’s great just to chill out, and enjoy the company! Both Kevin and Bernard came out, straight after work; it was about 11:15 when we decided we were all ready to go. So for them, it’s been a really long day! We managed to get the train home which didn’t bake long. Bernard and I had a cup of tea before turn in my in! I think it may be a sleep in tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



5th April 2024

Day 44
Hi ya Les, we’re has the time gone carnt believe you on day 44 how time flies when you’re having so much fun, keep doing what you love, fabulous photos as always. And a big well done on your cycling exercise experience 👍😂😂😘
5th April 2024

Thanks Julie
Time is definitely flying by xxx

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb