Bruce Wyatt On Way To The Philippines - 23 December 2011


Advertisement
Published: December 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

BruceWyatt email: wyatt6464@yahoo.com. Revised Entry: On this early Friday morning, 23 December, Elliott got up on his day off to take me to the airport. I'm happy he also walked in with me to see me off. It was so warm in Charleston, South Carolina; it didn't feel like Christmas. I'm sure it will be warmer when I land in Manila, Philippines at almost midnight on Christmas Eve. I couldn't sleep well last night, so on the flight to Chicago I napped a little. It was a smooth flight; we arrived 20 minutes early and had to wait for a gate to be free. A gorgeous, sunny Chicago morning, but the temperature is a cool 25F. I'll be hanging out for a few hours waiting on my flight to Hong Kong on Cathay Pacific. I hear great things about Cathay Pacific's service, so I'm looking forward to the next two flights. American Airlines sent me a free pass for their Admirals Club, but when I tried to use it I was turned away. Apparently it could be used only if I had flown into Chicago on American, or was flying out of Chicago on American.

I was allowed to use the USO lounge though. Very nice, welcoming people. They had lots of food, drinks and snacks, and Christmas candy and treats galore. I joined 5 Navy sailors who were playing a card game of Rummy. Actually I was just a spectator. Had a nice time talking with these guys. One was stationed at San Diego, one in Greece, and two others in the northeast US.

More to come later on my journey and the service of Cathay Pacific.

Bruce Wyatt

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb