USA Road Trip - Day 6 (Savannah, Georgia to Charleston, South Carolina)


Advertisement
Published: March 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Driving from Savannah via Beaufort to Charleston


Went to be quite late night last night trying to get the travel blog updated but slept right through until alarm went off at 7.15am. Went downstairs for breakfast at 8.30am where Sabrina organized another beautiful treat. We had french toast with layers of berries and a dollop of cream, an apple & nut cake, and some fresh fruit. The guests we met the previous morning staying at this B & B had all left and there were three other groups who were all from the Orlando region of Florida. We had already packed the car before breakfast so we were right to go straight away around 9am. We had considered driving to Charleston via Beaufort for a more scenic experience and when I discussed this with Sabrina she said it would be a good idea, so off we went. It was quite a cold day starting out 9 degrees and would not get above 15 all day but there was not a cloud in the sky. One weird thing I recall from our travels yesterday is at the traffic lights when you are a pedestrian. As soon as you hit the button seeking to cross the road, you hear the voice of a little man saying “Wait,” a few seconds later “Wait” and again “Wait”. It is pretty loud and assertive style and when it is time to go there is no voice saying “Go” ? Quite annoying after a while but I guess it helps with safety. On reflection I’m not sure how I figured out is was a little man’s voice since I did not see him ! Anyway we headed off and drove over the big Talmadge Memorial Bridge built in 1991 to allow all the cargo ships to enter underneath as it has 56 metre clearance over the Savannah River noting Savannah Port is USA’s 4thbusiest seaport. Over the bridge and suddenly we were in South Carolina. A lot of swampy areas we passed but occasionally passed by some small towns which was much better than driving on the big Interstates. We did not really know what to expect in Beaufort so we just followed signs to the Historical Waterfront Park, and we passed by some amazing houses which we stopped to grab photos off. They are kind of beach house look, much different than what we saw in Savannah. We saw a bridge that was
The Beaufort Inn, South CarolinaThe Beaufort Inn, South CarolinaThe Beaufort Inn, South Carolina

How good does this place look ?
turning open 90degrees to allow large boats to travel causing a big traffic jam. We did not stay and headed on and to our surprise we went past a Walmart Store. Not planned but we have to stop here of course as this is American tradition and we have a look around. We did well to leave within the hour and only spent around 50 bucks so we were pretty disciplined. Kerry & I both bought some clothes that were on special and we grabbed some fruit, drinks and other stuff for the road trip.



We made our first fuel stop on the way and it did not go well for me. From past experiences I knew this would be a challenge and I thought I was well prepared. NOT ! Step 1 – read the instructions on the bowser. Very clear. Use credit card or pay at counter first. I read further to see that international credit cards are not accepted so inside I go. No idea how much I need to refill ¾ of a tank so I just ask to use bowser # 6. She asks for my river licence to hold and says “all OK to refill”. I go out and nothing happens. I go back in to tell her and she says you are on bowser # 13 right ? NO, bowser # 6. “OK you are all good now” she said. Out I go and still nothing happens. This time when I go back in I said here is $40- to use on Bowser # 6 please. Back I go and Eureka we have fuel filling the tank. It is going at the same pace that it takes me to write a travel blog (extremely slow !). The tank eventually was full after only $26.00 with the rate being $1.79 per gallon. I headed back inside one more time hoping to get my change. I sneak over to a different lady at the other counter who as I approach said “here is your $14- change” and I am out of here. What fun ! I am sure I was the subject of their ridicule for the rest of the day. On we go and we had decided to go to Magnolia Plantation on the outskirts of Charleston. This was one of the few old plantation homes that was not burnt down during the Civil War. We started by walking around the gardens before doing a tour of the home once occupied by the Drayton family since 1676. The home was partially burnt during the Civil War around 1865 but has been rebuilt since. It was interesting to see the home and hear the stories about life back in the day. We drove back to Charleston afterwards where we are staying at Holiday Inn Express Suites for next 2 nights. It’s right on the highway about 10 minutes from historic downtown area, but very quiet. It is Kerry’s birthday today and we have dinner at Ruby Tuesdays right next door. I had half a rack of bay backed ribs with hickory BBQ sauce and a few fried shrimps. Kerry had a petite steak with lobster tails. Well how god was this ? We shared bottle of nice German Riesling and unusually for us had dessert. Our waiter Sara suggested the Apple Crumble Flatbread and it was divine but too much food. Only drove about 180km today and tomorrow we head into historic downtown Charleston.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0925s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb