Day 1 - And here we go!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
July 27th 2011
Published: July 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Bautista at the plateBautista at the plateBautista at the plate

Before he got beaned in the head =( Boooo
Alrighty, here we go everyone!!

Glad to have you all "travelling" with me again - and those of you who are new to the fray, welcome and enjoy the ride =)

I went down to TO with my Dad before the trip which was nice - had some time to relax before heading out on my whirlwind adventure! I flew TO to Newark (gotta love Porter!) and had a good laugh at customs. The only question I got (with a one way flight to NYC) was how long was I staying. I answered I'm leaving that night out of JFK. He stamped my passport and off I went. Way to be thorough? Didn't check my details, nothing. Perhaps I'm too used to crossing by bus and having 10,000 questions thrown your way.

Ok, ok enough rambling.

I had the joy of taking 4 different trains to get to JFK. You think they'd have a better system? But no. The train from Newark Station to NYC Penn was fun stuff though. I had two lovely gentlmen behind me that worked on Wall Street. I learned more about the US debt crisis in those 15-20min eavesdropping than I knew in the last 2 weeks.

Penn Station was a little gross, but I found a nice spot enough spot to plop myself down on the ground and eat some lunch. Of course, at this moment is when I guy decided to also plop himself down for a chat. Sigh. Always me. He went on some sort of ramble about how people are always talking bullshit, then he apologized for saying the word bullshit, then continued on saying that sometimes you just have to talk bullshit, "but I don't need to talk bullshit to you ma'am" ... lovely.

LIRR train to Jamaica Station was bump-piddy-bumpy, and finally a transfer to JFK... success! Only to be greated by the security line from hell. Oh JFK, how you make me laugh.

About to get on the plane now - talk to you once I've landed!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb