Settling In and Enjoying the Warmth


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Wauchula
January 24th 2013
Published: January 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Settling in and enjoying the warmth



Kat was up early to go to the rv dealer to pick up her new rig. I had to run out and snap a picture of her old rig so we can compare the old and new. It was cold out, 44 degrees, so I ran out said good bye and ran back in and back to bed. Kat is supposed to return tomorrow afternoon with her new rv after orientation and driving lessons.



After coffee and GMA on the gorgeous new tv Oscar and I went out for a necessary walk. Back inside I had a phone call from Jane, my wonderful friend from home, to hear that it was 2 degrees in the Poconos. I couldn’t wait to brag that it was now almost 70 degrees and very sunny. FL is perfect this time of year!



Oscar and I went for a long walk with Ginnie and her 2 Dobermans, picture. It is quite a contrast to see 2 big dobies and little Oscar who looks the same except for much shorter legs. People are afraid of the big dogs so they come to pet Oscar and he’s the one who may bite them. The dobies are therapy dogs, at least Lioness is, and Elliott is in training still young at 8 months. They are the sweetest dogs, very loving and affectionate.



When we came home I took my computer outside and did some e mails and travel planning on the internet. Oscar loved sitting outside and watching the world go by.



Then it was time to hit the nature trail. This campground is on the Peace River so there is a trail that runs along the river where you can view wildlife and really enjoy nature. Apparently there are 2 alligators that routinely sun themselves and are part of the afternoon attraction around here. But today they are not to be found.

What I did find was a great blue heron, picture. Then a white egret flew by and landed across the river and stood there and posed for me in the afternoon light. When he went downstream a green heron came from upstream and walked back and forth fishing. It was a fun afternoon, so glad some of the wildlife showed off. Tomorrow I have to go to Walmart, get a fishing license, and fish the river. I might catch an alligator!



Then it was time for happy hour with Ginnie. Her rig is in the sun so later in the afternoon it is really pleasant sitting there enjoying the evening.



Now it’s blog time and doing some research into what to do tomorrow, I think I’m ready to branch out a little.It's almost 8 pm and 63 degrees....


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.331s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 100; dbt: 0.2087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb