Gone fishing instead of just a wishin


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Wauchula
January 28th 2013
Published: January 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Can’t believe I haven’t posted for several days. They have just gone by so fast, just nice relaxing lazy days.



I have walked in the campground, taken some pictures, and kept an eye on the river for native critters. Today I was rewarded with my first sighting of “Old Stumpy”. They kept saying there were 2 alligators in the river that sun themselves in the afternoon but I haven’t seen them, maybe it wasn’t warm enough. Today it reached 82 (sorry all you northerners) so I collected camera, lenses, tripod, sunglasses and hat and dragged Oscar to the river to see if we could get lucky. We did . Old Stumpy was on the opposite bank and it took me several minutes to spot him he was so well blended in to his surroundings. He even had leaves on his back, he was there so long. Picture. I had enough time to snap a few pictures when something alerted the old boy and in the water he went. He is truly massive, at least 6 ft long and very thick in the mid section. Maybe he just ate a deer or something. There are signs warning you about him but I didn’t realize he was so big. Oscar just had a drink from the river yesterday, he could have been dinner.



The day before I was there practicing my fly fishing technique. Yes, I need lots more practice but it was fun just being there watching the drama. There was a red-shoulder hawk sitting up on a tree watching the river and I had to go on the other side of him to get a picture because of the sun. Shortly after his portrait was taken a green heron walked by and the hawk swooped down to have him for dinner, missed. The hawk jumped up on a branch, sat there a minute, then took off with the power of huge wings. I snapped a quick picture, not good but I am including it here to show his enormous wings.



It has been so warm here, it’s hard to believe it’s so cold at home. This sure beats huddled in the house waiting for spring. I am so lucky to be here.



My friend Kat finally got her new rv all working properly after 3 days in the dealership in Tampa and drove it home yesterday and parked it on the first back=up, HUGE deal. She was so proud as we were of her and she is thrilled with it and getting settled. Tonight we had a new rv party for her and her gift was a state map where she can post all the states she has been in camping.



Great few days, lot of fun


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



29th January 2013

So cool!
Still jealous of all of your adventures! I'm glad you're having such a great time!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb