Here and Settled


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Wauchula
January 22nd 2013
Published: January 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Here and settled



I left Lake City and 6 hours later finally got to Peace River Campground in Wauchula. It was supposed to be a 4 hr trip but like always there were stops to make and this time a traffic jam at a flea market.. I can’t believe the way flea markets here are so incredibly popular. The markets are HUGE and traffic is backed up miles in all directions. It took 20 min to just make it past the entrance and then I thought I was home free, not to be. There was a traffic light about 5 miles up the road and it took an hour to get through it. This was a two lane road through the woods, straight and flat so to have this amount of traffic was totally unexpected.

I got to the campground and found my friends and there was a great site right next to them that I took, leveled the camper, plugged in and took poor Oscar and me for a nice long, fast walk. We were both happier after that.

Ginnie, Kat and I set up our chairs for happy hour and we had drinks while catching up on the last few days. Then Ginnie made us a spaghetti dinner, which was delicious, and I just crashed. I went back to my camper and went directly to bed and slept til almost 8 the next morning.

Today started out cooler in the morning and I was slow to move about, so was Oscar. We had a leisurely morning, coffee while watching GMA then a nice walk. The temp was about 65 so perfect for being outside. On our walk I found a guy who does wood working and he agreed to help modify my tv cabinet if I could find a piece of wood. There is always someone about to do most anything around here. Interesting place.

I left Oscar back at the house and walked to the bathhouse and had a great shower. Wow did it feel good.

Kat and Ginnie were doing wash so I took the opportunity to set up camp properly since I am going to be here 2 weeks. Ran the hose for the water, installed the sewer line, put out my new rug by the door, set up the chairs and my new table, but I didn’t open the awning because it was a little windy. I made a temp plate out of cardboard for the mounting of the tv in hopes of getting a piece of wood this afternoon.

I had a nice salad for lunch and by then we were all ready for our big trip to Walmart. I so wanted fresh fruit and veggies and hoped to get some wood but didn’t find that. Tomorrow.

We came back and had a quick drink and then shared dinner of hamburgers, salad, corn on the cob and garlic bread. Great meal but again I was tired and needed to go to bed. Guess it’s unwinding time. Pictures tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb