From sunny Florida


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Ocala
February 10th 2012
Published: February 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I can't believe it's been a week since I left home. I spent last Fri and Sat night in Laurel, MD with my son and daughter in law. They are busy renovating the Phelps House in downtown Laurel for a B&B but right now it's distruction time. What an adventure!

Sunday morning Feb 5th I left MD and drove to South Carolina on I 95. The traffic was light and I made good time and was able to get settled by the time the super bowl came on. The picture wasn't the greatest but the game sure was and my team won..

I arrived in Jacksonville on Monday afternoon and checked into the Flamingo Lake RV resort and met up with my friend John who is spending the winter here. The walk around the lake is 1 mile and Oscar was sure happy to get out of the box and streatch his legs. Monday we went to the beach and Jacksonville fishing pier. Oscar got a great run and chased the sea gulls, rolled in stuff, and dug a few holes, could life get better. I photographed an osprey while he was fishing and then more photos from the pier. We got back and had a delicous dinner at the rv park cafe. Early to bed.

Wed found us traveling to downtown Jacksonville waterfront where we got a good walk and saw all the sights. Pictures

Thursday was the rv show and we spent the day walking around and drooling at all the new models and innovations.

I left John and Jacksonville and headed for Oscala to a LoWs campout. (Loners on Wheels) I got there at 5 pm, had time to walk the dog and grab my purse and jump in a car to head for dinner. There were 20 of us at the restraunt, 2 tables, and the meal was fabulous. When we got home I was exhausted and had enough energy to walk Oscar and go to bed. Oscar was a great little trooper, being in "the box" most of the day.

This campout is a large one and more campers arrived than there were spaces so we doubled up. I came back from dinner to find a bus parked 5 feet from Pennelope. It is so crowded I had to really search to find my camper. I'll include pictures of the parking lot tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Stonewall JacksonStonewall Jackson
Stonewall Jackson

Jacksonville was named after general Jackson


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb