Mission Aborted...Going Back Home


Advertisement
Published: July 12th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Maybe it was one too many mountains to ride. All I know is when I reached the Utah border near Grand Junction, CO, I didn't want to go further west with the thought being that the farther I went, the farther I would have to get home. I didn't reach the point of no return because it was closer to home to turn around. I called Jan and told her how I felt and she agreed, telling me to head for home. So I turned around and rode along the Gunnison River and Black Canyon back to Gunnison, CO, where I spent the night. I'm disappointed that I didn't have what it takes to complete the whole trip, as ambitious as it was, but I did get to ride all over the state of Colorado, and a good amount of that with my brother. That makes it still a hell of a trip in my book.



Riding along the Gunnison River between Grand Junction and Gunnison twice gave me a full appreciation of how beautiful that area is along with the very large Blue Mesa Reservoir. My buddy Joe said his brother, Jim, recommended that I get there if I could and he should be happy to know that I did it twice. While in Gunnison, a person recommended an alternate route to Salida which was on my itinerary. It was to go through Cochitopa Canyon and pass so I took it just to see more of Colorado. I crossed the Continental Divide for about the third time since I was there. Very scenic.



East of Salida Route 50 follows the Arkansas River for quite a while with several canyons to ride through. It was an absolutely gorgeous ride. I continued east to the town of La Junta, where Jim and I got water soaked on the 4th of July and I spent the night there. When you get to the town of Pueblo, you have left the mountains behind and the land is pretty flat all the way to Chicago. I kept looking back at the mountains to appreciate more fully where I had been.



I'm currently in Hutchinson, KS, spending the night here. My son Brett's traveling baseball team played a tournament here about twenty years ago and it brought back memories. I think it will still be three more days of riding to get home. Hopefully I'll see something memorable along the way.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



12th July 2019

Your pictures are wonderful! Have a safe trip home!
12th July 2019

Pictures
Thank you Jackie.
12th July 2019

Great Job
A lot of great memories. Thanks for taking us along with you.
12th July 2019

Great Job
Thanks, Ray.
12th July 2019

“Missed it by THAT much, Chief”
Thanks for the entertaining updates—enjoy!
12th July 2019

End of Road
Still a great trip /adventure ! Pics show the might & splendor of the West . I could not drive that far in a car . Get home safely .
12th July 2019

Home is where the heart is!!
Your journey was amazing, the memories are greater than miles traveled! Loved the pictures of Cochitopa Canyon, really looked beautiful! Have a relaxing, safe trip home - I'll be waiting!!
12th July 2019

Home
Can’t wait to see you.

Tot: 0.298s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 24; qc: 104; dbt: 0.1609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb