Let's Try This Again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Oshkosh
September 24th 2020
Published: September 24th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Southern Wisconsin TreesSouthern Wisconsin TreesSouthern Wisconsin Trees

No real color change yet. We'll compare to 400 miles north of here.
Two years ago I made a motorcycle trip to the western U.P. to catch the peak of the color change the first week of October. I had pretty bad luck with the weather. I rode for four days there and the warmest day was 47 degrees. I had two nights with overnight 1" snows. But the worst part was that the sun never shined for those days, making the color not so spectacular. Well, this time I'm going one week earlier and the weather forecasts seems a lot better. Highs in the 60's and a good chance of some sunshine.



I planned a nice comfortable ride, no more than 250 miles/day. So I rode to Oshkosh, WI today. I stopped to take a couple pictures in southern Wisconsin to give us a perspective of the color change as I travel north. I also made a very nice lunch stop in Ft. Atkinson, WI. I am a lover of very old taverns and I found a gem in Ft. Atkinson, Bienfang's. It was founded in 1907 and has been owned by three generations of the Bienfang family. After the lunch stop, I continued on my way to Oshkosh, where I'm spending the night.



Tomorrow I ride to my old and frequent stomping grounds, Land O' Lakes, WI on the WI/MI border. I'll be staying at the Gateway Lodge where I stay a lot in the winter when I'm snowmobiling.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



25th September 2020

Yes, hoping this trip will be filled with sunshine and spectacular colors!!

Tot: 0.296s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 104; dbt: 0.1552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb