A Day of Rest


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Salida
July 7th 2019
Published: July 8th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Cash OnlyCash OnlyCash Only

Don't ask me how I know.
Even God rested on the seventh day. And boy did I need this day of rest. If you're going to spend an extra day somewhere, Salida is a great town to do it. I took care of my chores, took a four hour nap and this evening went downtown for a nightcap.



I went to a very good restaurant called Currents that Jim and I had dinner in last night. There was a very friendly bartender working named George and two stools down from me was a young man telling George about his problems today. The young man was named Dave and George even commented how rare it is to have three guys with old fashioned plain old names. It turns out Dave is on a motorcycle trip from Flagstaff, AZ to central Nebraska to visit a cousin who runs a hunting lodge there. He ended up having a flat tire on his motorcycle about an hour from Salida and had to nurse it into town. Being a Sunday, he couldn't get it totally fixed and is spending the night here.



He turned out to be a 32 year old army veteran who has traveled very extensively and has a HUGE love of adventure. We regaled each other with our travel stories and George told us how he has lived here for 5 years and loves it here. What's not to love for him, fantastic fishing on the Arkansas River here, and snowboarding in the winter 15 minutes from his house. We had a great conversation and a nightcap turned into a couple more. I know I've been accused of spending too much bar time, but honestly you meet an awful lot of interesting people in bars and meeting new, interesting people is the very best part of travel.



A rest well earned and enjoyed.

Advertisement



9th July 2019

MC Rest
Nice . I will have to try a bar sometime .
13th July 2019

Chores??
Doing your chores is what really led to a nightcap.....or three!!

Tot: 0.294s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 22; qc: 106; dbt: 0.149s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb