Dubbo to Athens


Advertisement
Europe
June 3rd 2012
Published: June 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Bonjour, Ca va.........

I was hoping to get the blog out earlier but you can understand visiting all this great places its not exactly a priority now reluctantly in Athens on the balcony under the Acropolis, so here we go.........

Well I arrived on the 21st thought I was meant to get here on the 20th....ooops, at least a bed and hot shower were ready....dispensed with the former and hit AMS, this time in Spring.....I have really taken to it what a lovely City Amsterdam is, people are nice and how they are disciplined with their bike culture is simply amazing....Clover Moore will NEVER match it....I suppose a flat city and dedicated bike lanes help a bit.

Just walked around to some sites and took in the inner city burbs, I luv those 3-4 story renovated terraces/buildings...it was like you are walking around Paddington. Here is one for the privacy Nazis everyone puts their names on their front doors.....WTF

Haven’t been window shopping yet, but I have concluded AMS will survive without the coffee shops there is enough cafes and outdoor venues to fill the void albeit a little more sedate....this is one city you can sit outside and people watch whilst eating Fries and Mayo and sipping a cafe latte. Real enjoyable experience, everyone appears to be doing it after work particularly in Leidseplein.

Last time I ventured along the well worn tourist path, this time I navigated out to the Museum sector and got absolutely lost....Now I know how you can relate AMS with Venice, those god damn canals and bridges!!!!

As I lost a day, I had to max out my sightseeing and take in a little SOO also, the guber in Nelly’s Irish pub next door had no idea what I was talking about perhaps lost in translation (I couldn’t have said it any more clearer in Greek)...at least the yanks in Hawaii accommodated the skips from downunder. Apart from the wacko street names I hope you enjoyed some fun street signs I posted on FB.

Once again I went looking for a SOO site to watch the game and ended up finding out it was the wrong day not before what I thought was a sports bar, was the Bulldog AMS’s biggest and most famous Coffee Shoppe... oops..lol

AMS is still the same hasn’t changed much since 2009, but I think it will change after they ban foreigners from smoking weed and the RLD gets pushed out to the suburbs, Oh well thats progress...Hmmmm

Finally I took the bus to Paris and had a good night sleep, only 10 people on the bus so I managed to get the back seat all to myself...bliss

For those that haven’t been to Paris its one big city, no way can you walk to all the major neighbourhoods to see the attractions. So get you head around the 300 Metro stops (just in Paris alone ) and follow the colours and you will be fine. Similar to all Metros around the world I have visited.

I have the lovely Nikita a Vet student from California studying in Dublin (yes I did say that I only ever heard her name in the Movies) in my room, with a dude from Argentina, and another from Minneapolis...Very international, thats why I like backpacking and staying in Hostels.

I hit Paris and whilst I’ve been here before with the kids, this time I wanted to see some off the beaten track stuff. Believe it or not I only came here to visit the James Douglas Morrison (from The Doors for those uninitiated) burial site in the Pere Lachaise Cemetery, along with Oscar Wilde, Edith Piaf, Bellini and Chopin..Real cool place heaps of famous people buried there.

Went and saw the Statue of Liberty and you thought there was only one of these missy’s well there are actually three and two are in Paris...Hmmm The coolest thing I saw was the HUUUUGE Le Defence Grand Arch building, now that is one of the coolest building I’ve ever seen, up there with the Sydney Opera House, for architectural marvel.

Apart from the blisters I’ve come down with gout again, and this time I haven’t been drinking (as much) or eating rich food, but perhaps the chilli which was on every meal from Sydney to AMS. So lying low and most probably will miss a day in Paris until the drugs kick in. Which by the way, there is a Chemist on every corner in Paris and managed to get my drug of choice Mobic without a prescription, from some dodgy Chemist. I asked do I need a prescription, Yes, I told him I was a tourist and bobs your uncle....I thought that sought of thing only happens in Bangkok!

Finally saw the Eiffel Tower at night , real real cool. I also love how Parisians go to the parks after work just to sit read, talk crapola, eat, drink, smooch, absolutely packed, real nice and romantic..........

Finally the weather has been awesome for spring and with day light saving, it doesn’t get dark till 10pm.....now there is an idea to reduce the greenhouse effect.

Onto Nice and my first impression was WOW look at all those private jets... This is going to be one interesting part of the planet!!! Hit the Zzzzz’ and got up for the free brekkie and lined up for my €1, 30 min bus ride to Monaco...the best value and site seeing trip along the Cote Azur coast. Arrived on Grand Prix day (Yay Mark Webber won)...Place was packed, I wasn’t there for the GP it just happened to be on at the same time....luckily I didn’t buy a $2000 ticket those cars are deafening to the point you can get some serious hearing problems...anyway took in the vibe. Visited the Palace and the most exclusive gated city in the world, has a palace and its own police force, naturally. I would love to know who lives in those grand houses. Unfortunately I didn’t score a princess, but if Albert can score a hottie there is still hope yet and I reckon I have more hair!!!!! Monaco is very modern compared to older parts of Europe, and it reeks of wealth. The cars the yachts and the apartments overlooking the sea, now that’s what a Tax Haven offers......mega note to self!!!!!! Almost fantasyland like but worth a visit just to take in how the other half live.

Nice on the other hand where Im staying is the hub of the French Riviera and whilst still more modern than Paris it doesn’t have the traffic, the rush or the dog shit everywhere.....but it does have the beach, Ahhhh bliss except there is no sand. Had a swim yesterday arvo and after the body has been taking a pounding it was like taking an ice bath, absolutely devine!!!! Lastly Paris and Nice are very expensive places to dine or have coffee a meal and drink could put you back $25 for lunch + $10 a Pint (thats not so bad) but when you times that by how many time you eat out on your trip your card can take a good ole hit....especially for us poor backpackers...lol

Definitely will be back to the French Rivera, just gotta find myself a princess to bring along next time!

Talking of Princesses, I arrived in the land of senoritas..... Barcelona, what a TOP city, put it on your bucket list...absolutely amazing. Not too crowded plenty to see a beach right in the middle of the city...bliss, and did you know its OK to fully strip on the beach to get changed, I heard about it but until I saw it unbelievable..and Im talking abouts the guys...not kidding!!!

The sites are unbelievable and different to say the least....btw the Barcelonians’ are not Spanish, they are Catalonians...Dont forget it!!!!

I will be back as quickest I can get another cheap ticket to Europe and do at least a week next time, and hopefully the Sagrada Familia will be closer to being completed (approx 2026 - commenced 1882)...A must see and definitely an iconic building. Antoni Gaudi has a lot to answer for, his influence is throughout the city. I actually stayed 5 building away from his famous Casa Batllo on the Presseig de Gracie right in the heart of the exclusive shopping precinct. I went on the old gothic city walking Tour was absolutely stuffed, so I spent the rest of the day checking out Gaudi and hanging out with San Miguel and knocking down a few Sangria’s on way to talking crap with all sorts of people from around the world!

With one day to go I walked about 20km (great for fitness shit for your feet and so hot...great Tan though) taking in everything and still missed about half...anyway pick up the rest next time and there will definitely be a next time...highly recommended groupies.

On a final note I read yeeros’ are only €2 and € 2 Pints that’s gotta be a good thing....and I was greeted at AB’s (my home away from home when in Athens) must of made an impression last time .... they asked how the kids and the cops were...WT that was 2 years ago!!!!! Anyway finished my first night in Athens with a couple of pints on the roof top bar under the night lights of the Parthenon...real cool!

OK back to listening to Midnight Oil on Athens radio and uploading this silly blog, until next time groupies, I hope you folk back home are enjoying the rat race, Au revoir

Dubbo icon lost in Europe 2012 edition


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.284s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb