LIFE IN EUROPE


Advertisement
Europe
November 30th 2008
Published: November 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me and my life...Me and my life...Me and my life...

All you need is a backpack.
Well I've hit 55 days into my Western Europe trip and it feels like I got here an eternity ago with so many places visited, awesome couches surfed, cool people I've met, a million pictures taken, and only half a month left before I return to living the American way of life. It has definitely been a learning experience adjusting to each place I've visited, the cultures I´ve experienced, and just living like a European in general.

MONEY. The Euro (€) is the main currency used in EU nations. In contrast to the US currency, EU bills are different sizes and there is no 1 Euro bill, but instead a 1€ coin and even a 2€ coin. Expect to carry lots of coins in Europe. Oh, and if you're traveling from a non-EU country to an EU country and vice-versa, try to get rid of all your coinage before leaving the country, because most currency exchange places will only exchange bills.

THE STREETS* Street signs. More often than not, street signs are not posted on street corners mounted on poles nor will you typically find street names hanging overhead at major intersections. In Europe, street names are found on the walls of a corner buildings.
* Street system. If there is a street grid system, I have yet to come across one. There is no rhyme or reason to how the streets are laid in many of the big cities I've visited. Streets criss cross one another any which way at any angle.
* Street names. Street names change like people change their underwear. You can be walking down Via Camino that turns as little as a 5 degree angle and now its Via Where-the-hell-am-I. And even a main street that runs straight and through a city will change names at each block. You almost have to always carry a street map to constantly check that you're on the right path to your destination.

CARS. I can't remember the last time I saw a SUV or a utility truck. Big cars are not common at least in the big cities I've visited. Mini-compact cars are everywhere especially the super-mini SMART CAR

DINNER TIME. If you go to France, Italy, or Spain, expect to eat dinner late compared to US standards. In Paris & in Northern Italy, dinner is usually no earlier than 8-8:30pm and the farther South in Italy you go its even later. Dinner time in Spain is no earlier than 9pm-10pm.

DRINKING

RESTROOMS* No toilet seat covers. We're spoiled in the US, well at least on the West Coast. The art of squatting should be mastered in Europe before visiting.
* Looking for a restroom in Europe? Look for "WC". I picked up on this in Paris and just went along with it until four countries later when I finally asked "What does WC mean?". Turns out that "WC"= Water Closet. I Wikipedia'd it and turns out that "WC" was an old term used to describe the location of a toilet as it was typically in a seperate room where someone took a bath.
* Flushing the toilet. Typically, the "handle" to flush isn't attached to the toilet. Its usually a "button" on a wall. And usually there is more than one button to push. A big button for #2 (more water) and a small button for #1 (less water). 😊 Efficient these Europeans are.
* In most European homes, the toilet is a seperate room from the bathroom...this explains the "WC" theory...its all making sense now.
* Expect to pay to use public restroom in some countries i.e. at the train station, tourist attractions, etc.

FOOD MARKETS. You'll find small neighborhood markets more frequently than supermarkets in Europe. But the supermarkets here are no where the same size as our big supermarkets back home. And speciality stores are easy to find selling just bread, cheese, meat, or seafood.

FAST FOOD. Fast food joints are few and far between in Europe and the ones you do see are the American chains like McDonalds, Burger King, KFC, and Subway. Sad, isn't it?

CONVERSION. Remember back in school when we were taught conversion formulas and I'm sure most of you complained, like myself, that we would never apply it in the real world. Well guess what, if you're traveling to Europe, you better brush up on a few conversion skills.*Distance and length are measured in meters instead of miles or inches.
*Temperature is measured in Celsius instead of Farenheit.
*Volume is measured in liters instead of ounces or gallons.
*Weight in measured in kilograms instead of pounds.
*Time is written in 24hrs instead of 12hr format.
SMALLER IN SIZE
HOURS OF OPERATION* No work on Sundays. Cities seem like ghost towns as EVERYTHING retail is closed in most European countries. So don't plan
My ObsessionMy ObsessionMy Obsession

Is there a Nutella Anonymous because I am going to need an intervention?
on doing any shopping for clothes, groceries, and the like. The only thing you'll find open are museums and restaurants.
* Work days. Depending on what country you're in, stores close mid-day. In Switzerland, Italy, Spain , business close their doors from 11am - 4pm give or take an hour and 1/2 depending on where you are.
* 24-Hours grocery/drug stores. No such thing in Europe, at least everywhere I've visited. Grocery stores close between 7p - 8p.
* Restaurants. They stay open late for the later dining habits of the French, Italian, and Spanish. The only thing you'll typically find open late are the kebab/swharma joints catering to the late-night party crowds.

I FELL IN LOVE IN EUROPE. Not with who, but with what. So you know the creamy filling inside a FERROR ROCHER...full of chocolate-hazelnut richness that just melts in your mouth. Who knew they sold it in a jar!? Yes folks, heaven in a jar and they labeled it NUTELLA. Europeans spread it on bread like we do peanut butter. Apparently they have it in the states, but I've only discovered it overseas. The best thing ever created...😊

ITS NOT SO LONELY OUT THERE
For
Travel Company ITravel Company ITravel Company I

Me & Jess in Venice
the first month of my trip I've traveled on my own but along the way I've made lifelong friends with couchsurfers as well as with fellow travelers from all over the world. During the second half of my trip I've been lucky to enjoy with the company of friends from San Diego & LA.

So there you have it. Things aren't bad at all here - just takes some getting used to. I'm enjoying adjusting to the European way of life. Thank you to everyone who continues to folllow me through my journey and keeping me connected at home through all your comments and emails.

Stay tuned for more...

WHERE IN THE WORLD IS LYNN NOW? Click here ----} Lynn's Twitter Page


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Travel Company IITravel Company II
Travel Company II

Me with Louise, Emily, & Mario in Rome
Me & Flat Jordan in LuccaMe & Flat Jordan in Lucca
Me & Flat Jordan in Lucca

I'll explain later...


1st December 2008

Detailed
You've got to be the most detailed blogger I have ever met. lol. Looks like you're having a blast! I'm jealous.
1st December 2008

SAVING THAT ONE JUST FOR YOU JESS
The shower emergency cord deserves more attention....saving that one for my Italy blog...
12th December 2008

Yayy
So now that I am finally on break.. I just caught up on all your blogs!! Your experiences still amaze me :) I cannot wait to go to Bonn now ( I got my acceptance email a couple of weeks ago...no formal letter. I guess LMU is trying to "go green" LOL). But I cannot wait until you come back to the O!! Enjoy the rest of your time out there.. which I'm sure you will! Love ya oh p.s. I hope someone amazing is performing while I am out in Germany.. that venue looks HUGE!!

Tot: 0.41s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb