Tirana


Advertisement
Europe
July 14th 2023
Published: July 14th 2023
Edit Blog Post

I sleep well though it is too cold at one point so I put a sweater and socks on. I wake to a message from Jasmine saying wake up I want to go the beach which was what I had suggested the night before. I get dressed and we head to the beach and sit in the ocean talking for a good hour before heading back. At the air bnb Stephen is ready so I jump in the shower then pack my bags while Jasmine showers. Once we are ready we load up the car then head to get breakfast. I make them both try a burek as you have to try it at least once, then we go to a creperie where Jasmine orders a Nutella crepe and Stephen and I get a coffee. At just before 11 Stephen heads back to do check out and Jasmine and I try to get the bill. When we eventually get it paid Stephen is waiting for us in the car so we jump in and head off. I have found a roundabout on their way that drops me ten minutes from my bus station and saves me a 40 minute walk or local bus so we say our goodbyes and I head to get the bus to Tirana. They are going to Berat to meet up with Deysha and will meet me in Tirana tonight. My bus is due to leave at 1145 so I put my bag on, buy water, use the toilet and then we are on our way.

The a/c works kind of so its not uncomfortable but his speed is and the bus jumps like its on a skateboard track. I really need the toilet again. We stop at the regional bus station which us the furthest out and a couple are complaining but I know I can get a bus so I cross over and a guy is saying centre so I follow him and jump on the bus. It is 40lek to the centre and takes about 30 minutes. I get off on the opposite side of Skandenbergh square from the hostel I want to go to and it takes around 8 minutes to cross the park. I find the hostel easily but it is up 4 flights of stairs. Tirana feels slightly ciiler than Vlore did, there is a breeze which helps. At the hostel the guy has a bed, bottom bunk in a mixed dorm for 9euros which will do me. I take it and unpack my stuff putting things away in my locker.

I head out, there is a Sophies cafe next to the hostel which is the cafe that is supposed to do oat milk and it does rice milk so I order my first late in 5 weeks. It is sweet but very nice. Unfortunately the Internet does not work here and my phone won’t charge on my power bar so I head back to the hostel. I was planning to go to Bunk Art the cold war bunker on the outskirts of the city but my phone is charging so slowly. By the time it charges there is no point going. Instead I walk to the restaurant Natasha recommended and book us a table for dinner. Then I head back to the hostel and change. I meet Stephen, Jasmine and Deysha at a cocktail bar called the observatory which has views of the city. I order something blue, Stephen gets a pina colada and Deysha gets a spritz. We take a lot of photos of the Tirana skyline.

At 7 we head to the restaurant, initially going to the wrong one. We take out table but it is quite warm so we request to move nearer to a fan. It is a beautiful courtyard and musicians are getting ready to play. We order lamb and some stuffed eggplants to share. I get a beer and Stephen gets a lemon soda and we all get water. The food is really tasty and the musicians when they start are good. They’re playing traditional Albanian music which is nice to finally get to hear some. We can’t figure out what the three people in the middle of the band on their phones are there for until after 50 minutes of sitting while others played, they finally start singing. There is a funny moment when a guy tries to move the fan and Jasmine tries to indicate that he should leave it alone. He comes over thinking she has beckoned him only for her to shout at him for messing with the fan. I back her up saying we’re hot and Deysha is just laughing. The poor guy looks so awkward and they leave soon after.

After dinner we head back to the observatory to see it at night. We take a lot of pictures then Jasmine and Stephen decide to head back. The guy tells us the party is about to start so we head inside to lava lamps, velvet cushions and karaoke. We order a water and a cuba libre and watch the first couple of singers. They are not bad but the place is still really quiet. Maybe we are early but there isn’t really much energy so we decide to head back. In my room I find a mosquito in bed with me so I spray it and go outside to spray myself. After the spray dies down a bit on the bed I head back in to go to sleep.



Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.323s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb