Day 26 - The Longest Day


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
October 21st 2012
Published: October 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Route Biduedo - Sarria.

I will give it to you right away: did 31,56 km in about 7.40 hours and I am hurting like hell. Why? The way today was down, down and more down, what is worse for the buttock. Why so many km? On the Camino you have stretches that have no accommodations. On those days you walk very short or very long. Today I decided for long.Climate was great. Frozen meadows in the morning and sunny the rest of the day with temperatures going up to 18C. Very nice and with great views all the way. I am now in a nice hotel, have showered, taken medicine and resting.

Today I saw something that really lifted my spirits. Two sisters doing the Camino together. Nothing special you may say, correct, but one was sitting in and the other pushing a wheelchair. The girl pushing must have been less than 25 years and the sister in the wheelchair probably around 18. I made conversation and they told me they were from Prague and starting walking, as the oldest put it, only in Astorga, that is some 150 km from where I am now. Quite amazing. Could not talk long because they were going faster than I because we were going down hill.

They have to travel on the road as the cyclists.

Another interesting development today was to be recognized as Peter the Dutchman. I was passing 2 people taking a rest. Passing by they spoke to me in Dutch saying you must be Peter. I said yes, and they explained that a number of people had told them about me. Kind of curious, but nice. We walked along for quite some time and at some point it struck me that the time we walked together probably is one of the long times I had spoken Dutch uninterrupted for quite some time Good for the accent.....

I am now back where I was a number of days ago as far as pain is concerned. I need to make a decision what to do with my backpack. Keep carrying or take it easy for a day, i.e. walk a short stretch. Sleep over it and see how I feel tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb