Day 27 - Positive Things


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
October 22nd 2012
Published: October 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Route: Sarria - Portomarin

Today brought some positive things.

The day was very nice and the Camino very diverse.

Galicia is very beautiful but at the same time somewhat backwards. Again a chain of very small villages half abandoned with purely old people.

Interesting is to see that when you put 2 Gallegos together for one reason or another the tend to speak very loud. Their language definitely is quite different. All signs are in Gallego, as if this were a different country.

I send my backpack by transportation today and did 23 km in about 6.30 hours. Took it easy particularly in the descents. I am still hurting but the pain is manageable. Hopefully it will get better the next couple of days.

Sarria where I started this morning is the starting point for a large group of people that just wants to walk 100 km, sufficient to obtain forgiveness for your sins ("indulgencia"). So underway I saw a lot of new faces trying to get used to the walking and sore feet. A number of new nationalities, amongst them Filipinos, Vietnamese, South Africans and people from India. As I told you yesterday I was asked if I was dutch. Today I was asked if I was a priest..... Must have been my black Adidas outfit and a white T-shirt that gave them that idea. Every day is a new and interesting one. Tomorrow again a "mild" day of some 24 km, again some ups and downs.I am now 92 km from Santiago. Hope to be there on Friday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

"Horreo""Horreo"
"Horreo"

Deposit for corn
"Horreo""Horreo"
"Horreo"

Everyone has one


Tot: 0.435s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb