A Long Hot Walk To Puente La Reina


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre » Puente La Reina
September 23rd 2018
Published: September 23rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Today was HOT. Really hot.

After a restless sleep in a hot room with stereo snoring battering me from either side ( it may have been the 3Tenors but obviously I can’t hear myself snore ), I was getting ready at 5.30am. I had organised to walk with a couple of women , so we were finally walking at 6.32. I am probably developing patience here because I don’t feel I can suggest we get moving.

It was all good and were joined by Pat, a retired English policewoman, and a young South Korean woman whose name I did not catch. They had no headlights and they are a must have for an early morning walk to Alto Del Perdon, a climb on mostly good paths, on the walk to Puente La Reina. Many people rely on their mobile phone torch but they don’t tend to illuminate the little things that cause a fall.

Breakfast was at Zariquiegui, a hillside hamlet 6.1 kms into the walk. Coffee, potato tortilla and a banana were my fuel and the last 2.1 kms to the top was steep but breathtaking.

At the peak we took the regulation camera shots and
Donation food stallDonation food stallDonation food stall

On the way to Alto Del Perdon
the others took off down the side of the mountain while I was very cautious. Pretty soon it became obvious that if I fell or hurt myself, I was all alone.

My foot problems have been contained to blisters on both big toes, so I set a pretty good pace until we joined a long queue of American tourists on a narrow track. They seemed to be my age, and their bus looked like a sensible way to travel; it even had a toilet. I asked.

The best decision of the day was to visit the 12th Century church of Inglesia de Eunate.

While the church was impressive, it was the kindness of a Spanish man and the two ladies with him that made my day. The were parked in the shade of a brick building, about a kilometre from the church and they called us over, offering something out of a cooler. We soon discovered that they had once walked the Camino, attributed some good fortune to it, and were returning the kindness they had once experienced, by feeding pilgrims. I had a foot long roll with delicious tortilla in it and the others also had
Wind PowerWind PowerWind Power

Some countries think it’s a good thing
red wine. An Irish couple arrived and received the same.

The last minute decision to walk to Eunate had paid off in spades and I’m not talking about a free meal. It was a moving gesture to some very footsore, hungry strangers. Soon after theIr black Mercedes drove past, I tipped my hat, and noticed the long line of Americans in hot pursuit. The people in the car were no fools; they were out of there.

We increased our pace in order to arrive early enough to have a quiet look and take a few pics.

I’m now in Puente La Reina, have had the afternoon to myself, relaxing outside a bar with a cold drink, and will meet the others for dinner.

I also caught up with my Catalonian mate who looked as fresh as she was on day two. She was conducting a group open leg scissor sort of stretching routine and encouraged me to join in. Her persistence paid off and soon I was on the floor, stretching hamstrings I didn’t know I had. Seriously, it’s probably not a bad end of day routine, and may help the old body fire up in the morning.

Today I also met Jack, a Jack Thompson type of guy from the Sunshine Coast. He was on his second Camino and was a nice voice from home to chat to. He was walking with his wife and sister in law and agreed , he had his hands full and was going with the flow.

Strolling across the old bridge, I was approached by Marta from Denmark , a middle aged woman who had only a short time to walk the Way. She was continuing to Maneru, a small hamlet another 5 kms further on. We chatted for a while and I showed her a lovely photo, well I thought so, that I took of the bridge. I pointed out the bridge further on to get the shot from and she asked where the old bridge was. You’re standing on it, Marta.

I had a pretty interesting day today, met some kind, friendly people and have a bottom bunk in the Albergue, possibly the biggest bonus from my viewpoint.

Tomorrow’s walk is to Estella and I’m staying in the Capuchin Albergue. Breakfast is at 6.30 so a sleep in is possible.

Have a great day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

A Common SightA Common Sight
A Common Sight

Unattended food stalls
The Rose between the thorns.The Rose between the thorns.
The Rose between the thorns.

My walking buddies today. Brazil, Australia, French Canadian
A slow hazardous descent. A slow hazardous descent.
A slow hazardous descent.

I took extra care as it could all end with a fall
The BridgeThe Bridge
The Bridge

Puente La Reina.


23rd September 2018

6:30? That's not a sleep in ... this is a sleep in : 8:00 ???
24th September 2018

I agree.
It’s 5.45 and I’m answering this. The snoring and church bells are a natural alarm.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb