Estella Today; 116kms Down, 675kms To Go; It’s Been Tough But Fun So Far.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre » Estella
September 24th 2018
Published: September 24th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Today the impact of the 28°c heat was softened by a cool breeze that accompanied me all the way to Estella. It was a varied walk, combining steep hills, lovely villages, long slightly undulating paths and good company.

I walked alone most of the time which I enjoyed immensely. I’m back to a good pace and catch up with known accomplices along the Way. It’s a good mix of time to think and time to chat.

I spoke to two South African women at a pharmacy today and they were over it. Not quitting, but certainly never recommending the Camino as a good thing to do. I think that approach will change and they are still hurting from the first 2 days. They were there for blister patches, I was there for Cortisone cream.

You can buy almost anything in Spanish pharmacies; they are medical advisors ( probably a constant demand ), and suppliers of powerful ibuprofen, Vitamin I on the Camino, supercharged voltaren cream, and ‘ kill any pain you have’ paracetamol. Probably including childbirth. Normally you go to Columbia for this stuff.

It’s great.

I arrived in Estella at about 1.30, so 22kms up and down hills in 6 hours is not bad.

The albergue I’m in has a good group staying and we’ll head into the Plaza for dinner. I recommended it them and then almost decided to go another 6kms further on. That wouldn’t have been a good look. Tired feet changed my mind.

I’m glad I’m here, I have a nice, private room and had plenty of time to wash my clothes.

They were smelling a little ‘fruity’.

Rotten fruity.

I’ll shortly visit the supermarket further up the road and stock up on fruit and snacks for tomorrow. You never buy much because of the weight. I was offered the large or small vasoline tube, for my feet, in the pharmacy. It’s a no-brainer;small please.

Well I can’t add much more today.

No lives saved or lost , so I plan for tomorrow.

Tonight will be quiet in bed, no snoring.

I can get up and make as much noise as I like, within reason.

And do not have to use a phone torch, directed away from others , as I prepare in the dark in the morning.

HEAVEN.
Cirauqui, Navarre Cirauqui, Navarre Cirauqui, Navarre

One of the most photographed villages on the Camino. Very quaint

DId I mention the white fluffy towel? It’s all mine, keep your hands off it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

The GPSThe GPS
The GPS

Haven’t used the guide yet, but I suppose I should have some vague idea where to walk.
Farmland At CirauquiFarmland At Cirauqui
Farmland At Cirauqui

Not a bad view from my ‘ impromptu ‘ toilet break. A nice find.
The Old Roman RoadThe Old Roman Road
The Old Roman Road

They used to paint the centre line with rocks; lasts a thousand years. Horrible to walk on though
Looking Towards Estella Looking Towards Estella
Looking Towards Estella

With the white cliffs of Basque Country in the background
What Can I Say?What Can I Say?
What Can I Say?

It’s been a long day.
A Room With A ViewA Room With A View
A Room With A View

First private, just me, room. A white towel and my own bathroom. Luxury on the Camino. I have stuff spread out everywhere.
Stressed Feet.Stressed Feet.
Stressed Feet.

Have to make it to Finisterre and Muxia first; about another 800 Kms. They are my obsession. Cream, tape, plasters, cut nails; where’s a podiatrist when you need one?


24th September 2018

Camino
Fluffy towels the dogs bollocks as they say,,,,carry on walking..
24th September 2018

Catch up with you soon
Hopefully
24th September 2018

Friend
I am forwarding your blog to a two time camino walker. Is that OK? She is planning another walk this year.
25th September 2018

Grand Final-nil interest
Hey, wish I was over there with you...further away from hearing about pies in GF the better. Had another dog win today, so will focus on that. Loving your blog..keep walking and writing ?
25th September 2018

AFL Is Not Big Here
Didn’t know the results until Monday. Completely shocked. At least we stopped a Pie from winning the Brownlow. My Grand Final should be in Muxia with Tim on 1 November..

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb