Najera to Santo Domingo de Calzadas


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » La Rioja » Santo Domingo de la Calzada
September 8th 2017
Published: September 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

We left the albergue at 6:30, heading to Azofra for our breakfast stop. The trail was fairly flat once got out of town, plus it was fairly dark most of the 5 kilometers or so. We stopped at the Bar El Descanso de Peregrinos for our usual breakfast. Just outside of town we passed a pilgrim's monument then walked another 7 kilometers, passing a golf course a bunch of apartments and duplexes that looked pretty empty, with a lot of for sale signs. Just passed the golf course we finally found a bar for our next break, called Bar Jacobeo. The last 7 kilometers or so was pretty long, with some steep ups and downs. Finally spotting Santo Domingo de Calzadas, our destination for today, put a little zip in our stride, but only a little.

We found the albergue we had picked, called Casa de la Confradia del Santo and checked in around 12:30pm. This albergue has 229 beds spread over 3 floors, and is pretty decent, with modern facilities including kitchen, lockers, and courtyard around back. Although my guide said it was by donation, the "donation" required was 7 euros plus 1.50 euros for sheets. Also, they had a washing area in the courtyard, but no machines. Fortunately, right in front of the albergue was a lavanderia with 2 washers and 2 dryers. We put all 3 sets of dirty clothes in the larger washer and Juan hung around while Raresh and I went looking for a place to eat a medium lunch.

We ended up picking the Cervezeria Bar Titantic because they had some interesting raciones at reasonable prices. After a good helping of our usual Patatas Bravas and a racion of tigers (chopped mussels in a delicious sauce), we were both full. It was still pretty early, and not late enough for stores to be open, due to the typical Spanish siesta hours, so I just strolled around window shopping. I know, I just finished walking like 6 hours with a backpack, but if I lay down or relax too much I'll fall asleep and not be able to sleep well tonight, and lights and doors closed at 10pm

Once the stores reopened, I went looking for a thimble and a supermarket. I couldn't find an interesting thimble, but located a decent supermarket. I ended up buying a microwavable lasagne, a banana for tomorrow, and a pudding cup for dessert tonight. While I was waiting for the lasagne to cook, I opened the cheese I'd bought 3 days ago, had someone verify that it was still good and nibbled on it. With that, the lasagne and the pudding, I was stuffed and gave the rest of cheese to Raresh to eat or share. I chatted with my sweet, understanding Spanish wife of 43 years, posted this blog, and will be heading to bed soon.

Tomorrow we have another easy day of only 22 kilometers to Belorado.
***I am having trouble uploading photos due to bad/slow connection, so I'll post the text for now and try again later or tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



8th September 2017

I stayed at the Albergue Quatros Cantones in Belorado...
pretty good, with pilgrim meals served on the premises, a swimming pool, and washers and dryers. There are many cafes to choose from around the main square. Buen Camino!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb