I walk a lonely road The only one that I have ever known Don't know where it goes But it's home to me and I walk alone


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia
June 24th 2014
Published: June 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

June 24th - Molinesca to Cacabelos



Another sleepless night - I go to bed after watching Spain win their meaningless game. I am exhausted having gotten up so early. In the same bunk room as Manfred and I are a young Spanish mom and her son. I am at first excited - I don't even pull out my earplugs. What a mistake - the mom snores like a drunken sailor. I end up fishing out my earplugs out of my backpack in the dark buts as usual they don't do much - I do crank my head again - who says the bottom bunk is safe?



At 6:30 I crawl out of bed and pack to leave.



The walk today is a mixed bag - a confusing network of city routes with three options around Ponferrada - I get lost in the city and end up taking a longer alternative route than necessary ending up in Camponaraya. My feet have had enough walking and I plan to find an Albergue there so I buy a large 2 litre powerade drink, some cheese, a small baguette and an apple and two nectarines at the local super market. As I walk up the Main Street looking for an Albergue I run into Manfred (German pilgrim)- he convinces me to carry on to to the next town Cacabelos another 6 km on.



We eat some of the food we each have in the Camponaraya city park beside a grandfather and his sleeping grandchild - boy I miss my grand kids - I repack the uneaten rest and we get back on the Camino for another 6 km walk - my feet are pissed off.



It starts to rain and for the first time on the walk I need to put on my backpack rain cover and my raincoat. This is annoying - I should have spent the extra money on a better rain coat - very hot and hard to see with the hood on.



We finally reach Cacabelos and settle on the municipal ( they are always crowded with horrible washroom/shower facilities) Albergue and share a very tight two person room. The rain does not let up but I do a hand wash anyway and put it under a canopy to dry - clean wet is better than sweaty / smelly wet. We meet a Danish teacher and eventually Doreen and Meagan pull in as well - we all agree to go into town for our pilgrim's dinner.



I am in a funk today - It is eating at me that I skipped those middle stages - also I am concerned that Manfred is talking of rescheduling his return date to walk the last several stages with me. Manfred is a great person but I came to the Camino to walk my own Camino - he is way too structured for me. He has pulled out his German guide book and is asking my opinion abut stage goals - I didn't even know I should have preset goals - my goals change according to what my feet want. The pope could ask to join me but I wouldn't want to walk with him for more than a day either - maybe less If he started talking religion.



I like to walk alone now that Tanya is not with me. I am very comfortable just daydreaming and concentrating on not falling off these mountains - it is very challenging and peaceful at the same time. I get as much social interaction as I want at the end of the day's walks. I have always liked my own company.



We have a great pilgrim's meal - I have a salad, the local fish ( fresh) and chips ( it is amazing how good the Spanish French fries are - are we sure they didn't invent them and the French took all the credit?) and a yellow custard with cinnamon for dessert - decent bread and good wine - nothing wasted.



We do the pilgrim's shuffle (hobble) back to our bunks and settle in for the night. The girls to our right are talking and giggling - Manfred goes and asks them nicely to keep it down. The Italian and Australian pilgrims on our left are yacking too - Manfred tells them to shut up - I pretend to sleep expecting all out war to break out at any time.



Piss off of the day - losing one's bearings literally and conceptually



Tip of the day - spend the extra money to get the proper gear. Toothpaste brand does not matter - a functioning rain coat does.



Blessing of the day - realizing I need to get back on track



Funny event off the day - i think i will have a peaceful night in our two bed bunkhouse - i realize when we lie down the walls do not reach the ceiling - we will hear everyone's snoring from one end of the row to the other - probably a echo effect too.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



27th June 2014

Great blog
Hi Keith. We love your posts. In Leon today and following you along.

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb