Tell me all your thoughts on God Cause I would really like to meet her And ask her why we're who we are


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia
June 25th 2014
Published: June 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

June 25 - Cacabelos to Trabadelo



I had better start writing these blogs quicker. The days are melting together - the stages and venues fading to black - the reality of getting older and the seduction of the Camino itself - complacency in the eye of the familiar.



I think I need to clarify something kind reader - I tend to dwell on the challenges and misadventures I face on the walk - it is fodder for and makes for a more interesting story. The fact of the matter is that every day on this Camino is a blessing - challenges and misadventures included. The daily vistas are stunning - each new hamlet and turn a freshly painted canvas just for me. There is a simple peace that can be found each day whilst walking 20 - 25 km in this environment. I would not change one thing that has happened so far and today is no exception.



No sleep again last night - our Australian and Italian neighbours exact their revenge on my German bunkmate - the Australian kid is going for the world snoring record and just as we get in tune with his brouhaha the Italian whistles loudly to stop him - they are are an effective tag team - I sleep 0 hours.



Manfred is oblivious to the snoring - I hear him snoring over in his bunk - Reminder to self to ask him where he got his earplugs. He awakes at 5:30 and is packed and ready to go. He is waiting in the courtyard to start our day - I get out of bed slowly and take my time packing and psyching up my feet for the walk ahead - I am ready at 7.



As we head out I walk slowly - Manfred asks again what our target is today - I reiterate that my feet will dictate - this is too much for him. He lets me know where he is intending to stop later, says he has enjoyed the last few days very much, hopes to see me later but if not buen Camino.



I am at once relieved but guilty - very acceptable for a Catholic pilgrimage.



I walk the rest of the day alone - much of today's walk is prelude to the climb into Galicia. Because of storm warnings I decide to take the road option - mostly walking on a small path to the left of the highway - very boring but safe I think - I have read of the challenges ahead and want an easy day. i. gto lost a few times but end up on the right path - see very few pilgrims today.



I finally end up in Trabadelo and get a quiet hostel - a room of my own - I need some sleep. I shower, do a hand wash and take a siesta. I get up after a few hours and work on my blog. I decide to go out and get some food at the small shop in town to eat up on the roof top patio - a peaceful night for a change.



As I leave for the store a young woman corrals me in the hallway. She recognizes me from the last Albergue - she was actually the next room neighbour that Manfred asked to be quiet. She seems very hyper and rambles on for 5 minutes - I finally escape to my room to get my money and leave for the corner store. Low and behold she is in there and before I know what happens we are splitting on food and wine and eating supper together on the patio.



Supper is a nice local cheese, very spicy chorizo sausage, half baguette and a great full bodied red wine. My dinner mate does most of the eating, drinking and talking. She suffers from manic depression and recently lost a pregnancy and her spouse (of two months). She confesses she is coming off a manic episode where she walked for two days solid. I listen and throw in the odd sentence. Back home she works for a crisis centre helping people with suicidal thoughts. I have a great respect for people that struggle with mental health issues. I find the vast majority to be courageous and caring and little understood. There but for the grace of God.



We eat, talk, tell no stories and do not laugh - this is ok.



We do up our dishes, say goodnight and I wish her a buen Camino - she really deserves one



Piss off of the day - municipal Albergues - too many people, too little infrastructure (toilettes)



Tip of the day - check out all your equipment before commencing a trip - especially earplugs.



Blessing of the day - a good dose of reality, a spicy chorizo and a nice red wine



Funny event of the day - the whole day


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement




Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb