Some people feel the rain, others get wet.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
October 20th 2018
Published: October 20th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I took spring cleaning to another level this year when I decided to pull myself out of my rut by starting to training for a 10K, this was to be the first time in 6 years that I tried to run anywhere. (And even then I ran four times and gave up)
I coupled this training with quite an extreme no dairy, sugar, wheat diet and as you can imagine I started to see physical results quite quickly.

The mental side was a whole other ball game.

I started as many people do with the couch to 5K plan it’s a type of podcast that’s starts you slow 3 minutes walking 60 seconds of running and builds up over 9 weeks.
Those first few weeks were some of the hardest of my life. I was battling with what I wanted to do and what I could do, fighting with myself to get up, get changed and go out. I cried while running because I was in so much pain and had hit a wall. No way was I going to get to 10K before the race I simply did not have the time, but I didn’t give up! I roped in friends to run with me, took my trainers on weekends away and kept my mind set on the goal.
As this zest for life reignighted within me I felt myself stepping back into myself, the funk I had fallen in over the past few months was blowing away, the sparkle returned to my eye.

Looking after yourself is the most important thing in the world but sometimes we seem to forget this, to let it slide, we fall into bad habits of eating too much, drinking to much and ignoring what we really need.

This is going to sound extremely dramatic but this time running saved me.
Just writing this has made me wonder why I feel I need saving, not just once but continually. Maybe saved is the wrong word but it certainly feels like being saved.

As I write this I am preparing my application for the 2019 Barcelona half marathon- new year, new goals and I am sure new challenges.

I am going to try something new this time, as I creep towards my 29th birthday I enter a year until my next decade the massive milestone of thirty I would like to invite you, my friends and family to help me compile my 30 before 30 list... a little like a bucket list but less extreme. Please send me suggestions of things you wished you’d done, things you love doing, or even things you’ve never done but want to read about! I will complete this list over the next 14 months and blog all about it along the way...
1- complete a half marathon
2....


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0901s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb