Siestas?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
May 14th 2013
Published: May 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Classes are getting a little better, but another girl and I are getting tutored after class. The tutoring really helped us today and hopefully we will be able to get switched into a beginner class soon. I found out today that the teachers are not allowed to speak English to us. It doesn’t make any sense to me, but they say that being totally immersed helps learn a language. I can understand that, but it just makes it difficult and frustrating. I just have to study and practice and hopefully I will exceed in grammar. After the tutoring, I went to the house to eat lentil soup for lunch. My host mom asked me if I don’t like her food because I don’t eat very much. I told her that I loved her food; I just don’t eat a lot at one time. She didn’t believe me, so I guess I have to start eating more. Lol. After lunch we went on a tour of the old and new cathedral and got to go inside and to the top of the tower. The city view was so beautiful, along with the church. A huge earthquake hit the city and some of the building came falling down. They rebuilt parts of the cathedral, but you can still see stones that have cracks through them. It is very scary to look at, but you just have to believe that the building is now safe. After the cathedral we went to a cave that a priest used to teach students black magic. They say that he was actually the devil because he had animal legs. My professor thought that it was a myth, but Jesus told us that it was a true story. The cave like area was very neat, but is said to be dangerous to go to. Near the cave is a famous garden for the story of Calisto and Melibea. IT is said that Shakespeare stole the story and turned it into Romeo and Juliet because the stories are almost the same. It was a beautiful garden with a well that has locks with lovers names all over it. After the garden, we went to class to learn the Sevillanas dance. It was a lot of fun, but so difficult to learn. By themselves, the hand motions and the feet steps were easy but together they were very hard. After our dance lesson we went on a tapas tour at Hidalgo. The tapas were delicious and it was a neat place. Of course I didn’t get back till late, so I wasn’t able to go to sleep until midnight. I don’t know how these Spaniards go out all night and wake up so early! I must try these siestas.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb