Spanish, Spanish, Spanish.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
May 13th 2013
Published: May 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post


Beautiful Doors
Classes started today, and they were very tough. The teachers only speak in Spanish, so it can be difficult when they are explaining what one Spanish word is by using a sentence of Spanish words. My first class was on grammar. We learned when you should use por vs para. It was interesting, and of course I got a lot of answers wrong. The teacher was able to speak a little English to us when we did not understand what was happening, but she didn’t speak very much. After the ten minute break, my next class started. It was on conversation, but we started to discuss random things like the word prostitute came from a Latin word that meant something was valuable. The professor does not speak much English, so he drew on the board to explain what certain words meant. Overall, it was a very overwhelming experience. Hopefully I will get the hang of it. When I went home for lunch I found tortilla and 3 French boys waiting for me. To my dismay and my mother’s chagrin, the boys are only 14. I decided not to participate in the optional activities of the day that consisted of a Spanish

Yummy Chorros and Chocolate
history lecture…in Spanish...for an hour. Instead, I went shopping some of the girls from my group. We stayed on the main shopping road of Salamanca called la Calle de Torro. The street leads to the city center known as Plaza Mejor, and has many Spanish stores. I had to stop myself from buying every cute thing I saw, so I settled on a jacket and a scarf. I am on the lookout for a pin that has Salamanca on it, but I have yet to find one. There are a lot of tourist shops near the cathedral, so when we go visit, I’ll be sure to scout out the right shop. Of course we stopped to eat Churros in Plaza Mejor. They were dipped in chocolate and very good. After the shopping, I came to the home and ate dinner with Rosario and Belinda. It was fun trying to translate things and understand Rosario. Hopefully, I will get the hang of speaking Spanish. But hey, it’s only my third day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb