Only Day Two?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
May 12th 2013
Published: May 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post


Can you find the toad on the skull?
My day started off like many soon to come days; toast for breakfast with my host mom always wanting me to eat more, a walk through the park to the school, and the feeling of calming freedom. Although I was crying and having panic attacks the day before I left, I feel relaxed and know that this is where I am meant to be. I am finally able to confirm that the girl from China is real, and not just a rumor. Her name is Belinda and she learned English in Australia, but now lives in Hong Kong. She is here to work at a bank while learning Spanish. After meeting Belinda and breakfast, I met up with my classmates at Mester(the school). We learned a little information about the city and then went on a brief tour. We went to see the old and new cathedral along with the University of Salamanca. Rumor has it that if you find the skull with a toad on it in the architecture then you will pass your exams. Luckily I found it and took a picture. They say the toad stands for lust and the skull is death, meaning that lust leads to

One of the beautiful bridges.
death. After our little sightseeing tour, we went back to our host homes where Rosaria cooked paella for my lunch. We were given free time for the rest of the day so a couple of us went wandering around trying to find the Puente Romano o Mayor (the Roman bridge). Jesus, (pronounced hezuz) our guide told us about the bridge and how it is a wonderful place to relax. After walking around the city, we finally found the bridge. It was so beautiful and we were able to sit in a grassy spot and just talk while relaxing. When we were done relaxing we walked around when we happened upon one of the girls we were going to meet. We went on our way to find somewhere that was cheap but good food. We found a pizzeria outside of the city square and sat down in the middle of the square to eat. Unfortunately I have not been paying attention to names of where we eat, but I will be sure to from here on out. We then went to eat what we were told was the best Gelato in town. Don’t worry, I will be eating there and again

Sights from the outside of the city.
and find out its name. I feel like I have been in this beautiful city forever, I can’t believe it is only day 2!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Walkway to the cathedral.


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb