Last few days


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Canary Islands » Tenerife
February 25th 2019
Published: February 25th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Not too much to report as our holiday starts to wind down.



Thursday evening we ate at the Culinarium restaurant again and was looking forward to another enjoyable meal, we had carpaccio, tuna steak followed by veal. Again beautifully presented small haute cuisine type courses, but I didn't take the dessert as I wasn't feeling 100%.

We both ate the same but something obviously didn't agree with me resulting in my staying in bed the next day with an upset tummy.



We didn't make it to meet our friends for lunch on Friday which was a shame as we were looking forward to seeing them and revisiting Costa Adeji just along the coast from Los Cristianos.



Saturday took things easy, the temperature has been over 30 degrees so it was sitting in the shade for us and I swapped the hotel bed for a pool lounger bed !

Temperatures are higher than usual for this time of the year, not that holidaymakers are complaining but of course the locals say they need the rain.

I still haven't got my appetite but might try some soup for dinner.



Sunday - Starting to feel my old self again, needless to say I’ve not ventured far but it’s nice just to relax and while away the hours.

These past couple of days the temperature has been between 29-30. How some people manage to lay out in it all day astounds me, but they do.



So once the midday sun was full in the sky we retreated under the shade of the palm trees, much more comfortable & palms are such fascinating plants, so many varieties with their different barks & root systems.



Every Sunday next to our hotel there is a large tourist market. People travel miles to visit the market which is one of the largest in the area.

The stalls start setting up quite early for the weekly rush of holidaymakers wanting to spend their Euros !

Such a choice of hats, bags, shoes, clothing, watches, jewellery, & local crafts (hopefully not Made in China) the crowds are filling the aisles as they barter for a bargain - time for me to make my exit but not before purchasing a couple of belts for Mr.M.

Back to the calmness of the hotel.

Our last full day is Monday & it looks like being another beautiful day. I wasn't planning on a blog this trip as I doubted it would be of interest but I managed to find a few things to share.

We always enjoy our February break to escape the British winter which means I get to enjoy my birthday in all different parts of the world and next year, my 70th, we are already booked to visit the beautiful Indian ocean island of Mauritius.

In the meantime we have lots to look forward to with weekend breaks around the UK & another sunshine break in September to Cyprus.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement





Tot: 0.532s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1906s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb