Longer stroll today!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Canary Islands » Tenerife
February 20th 2019
Published: February 21st 2019
Edit Blog Post

More Strolling!

We got up quite early but weren’t feeling hungry so just enjoyed some coffee & fruit on the balcony. The tide was way out this morning and we could see several locals looking for crabs in the rock pools.

Aqua gym session not on today so time for another stroll - a bit further today, all the way to the harbour.

As I walked along the promenade several people passed by, joggers taking their morning exercise, dog walkers (actual running) & the mobility scooters that ply the promenade all day long, some single occupancy and just a few tandem versions!
The promenade is a mix of tiles, plain & patterned slabs and boardwalk.

Passing all the cafes and seaside gift stalls the promenade eventually sprawled out overlooking a wide sandy beach.
I was a little perplexed when I saw a group of people laying on the sand in a circle!
How odd I thought and then as I continued my stroll they all sat up, it was only then I realised that it must have been a session of beach yoga or exercise.
I chuckled to myself.

It was still early but several families were setting themselves up for the day with their inflatable boats,flamingos, dolphins & more. It’s half term now hence all the kiddiewinkles all excited to be in the sunshine.

The harbour soon came into view, with small boats as well as the large ferry boats there is always something interesting to see.

Walking back I turned up into the old town, vaguely remembering it from some 40 years ago when we first visited Los Cristianos when it was just a small fishing village. My how things have changed but it was good to see an old established restaurant (typical Spanish) had survived and was still trading.

The church bell was ringing out but I didn’t feel it right to go inside as there was a funeral taking place.
As I stood contemplating whether to take a photo of the church I was rather surprised to see tourists standing in the doorway. Oh dear no respect.

Returning to the hotel, David joined me for a coffee and I felt I deserved a small Danish pastry after all that strolling.

The cloud seems to be setting in for the rest of the day, although it is still 25 degrees.
I think its going to be a kindle kinda afternoon.

Tonight was a gala dinner, nothing too dressy but they did advertise it as dress code black & white.
Last week David wore a jacket but few fellow diners did so we went for a more casual black & white attire this week.

Lots of different meats, fish & shellfish on offer, you certainly are spoilt for choice.
We both had fish which was very tasty.
We seem quite satisfied with 2 courses.

Tomorrow evening we are returning to the Culinarium restaurant with it’s 5 courses but the portion sizes are more like a taster menu!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement






Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb