June 18 2014


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia
June 18th 2014
Published: May 27th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Up early 0530 hrs as usual to update the blog. How's that for dedication to my readers. After a healthy breakfast of salami and boiled eggs we cycled off to Postojnska caves. Only a short ride from town... Great! We decided to buy the blockbuster ticket which gives you access to 4 attractions. The first one was the caves. You board a train like the wild mouse for a 2 km trip in to the cave system (which is 27 Kms long). You then walk 1.2 kms through the cave system. Absolutely breath taking! Gus and I were then involved in a photography contest as neither of us are competitive. I used special techniques known only to a few and the results were as expected.... Crap! Just kidding. Gus used a different method called shoot and scoot. We've since deleted his photos. Some of mine came out ok and others looked like I had ten beers before I took them. No flash photography was allowed for European people but our Asian friends were exempt. ( just kidding Bei). The cave system was simply stunning and my award winning pictures don't do it justice. From there we had a 10 km cycle to Predjama castle. Bugger me can these Slovians fits some hills in to 10 kms. We arrived there with a few minutes to spare as the second of the blockbuster tours started at 1300 hrs. On route we bumped into the Polish couple, Margo and Marius on the way from the castle to the caves... Small world!! The castle was breath takingly beautiful. (Refer to more award winning photos). Tour number 2 was caves under the castle. Wasn't too bad although no stalagtights there were few small bats.
Tour 3 was through the castle also pretty interesting. Then it was time for the ride back to the caves for tour 4 which was a tour through the butterfly exhibition. Gus and I cycled up and down the multiple hills to the caves. On arrival Gus then searched high and low for the tickets which he then realised that he thrown out. (The nuffy). I didn't hang it on him much particularly when he reminded me that on the first day in Ljubljana whilst I was in the wrong lane at the traffic lights I'd reversed my push bike in to a taxi. The driver spoke reasonable English when describing my level of education and even used sign language as he passed us later!!!
All in all a great sight seeing day which cemented the fact that even a short ride in Slovenia means hills.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb