Day 17 - Ljubljana


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
August 12th 2011
Published: August 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

(the photo uploader is acting all crazy, so sorry if they don't load properly!)

Decided to actually stay in town today and take in its sights.

I started my adventure with another lovely panini from Back Werk - such a great find. I then headed off to the artist area. The walls were plastered with grafitti - I was in heaven snapping photos.

From there I wandered thru the sleepy sidestreets until I came upon Dragon Bridge - great dragon statues to be seen! Next was Butcher's Bridge (weird little statues of fish heads I believe they were...? haha) which also had all the love lockets that you see all over Europe. Sweet.

And from there I took the furnicular up to the castle (for 2 euros return as a student, I couldn't resist!). The view from the castle is quite nice, but I didn't pay to go inside and such - I kind of figure once you've paid to go in one castle... they're all quite similar. One cute thing I saw was "Library under the tree tops" which was essentially a free mobile library with lawn chairs, set up in the courtyard - what a neat idea!

Anywho. Once back on level ground, I walked along the river - enjoying an ice cream in the process, no doubt - and just people watched from a bench for a bit. There are so many great little bridges, that the photos turned out quite lovely along the water.

From the river, I went to Tivoli Park to just curl up in the sun and read - I spent a good two hours there and absolutely loved it. They also had a nice little display of photos from Serbia which were all quite beautiful. And I finished my night off with a few local beers - very nice.

So, that's that! Today was my last day in Ljubljana - it's been a great stay 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb