Deck quoits, whales and the midnight sun cruising in Norway July 20th 2019


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Northern Norway
July 20th 2019
Published: July 23rd 2019
Edit Blog Post

Cruise day 6

Deck quoits, whales and the midnight sun cruising in Norway July 20th 2019

After staying up until after 2:30am we had a bit of a lie-in this morning and I even passed up on a late breakfast, opting for an early lunch instead. Prior to that we sat out in the sun (I had my hat on Mum) writing blogs and enjoying the views. We are still sailing down the fjords so we have views on both sides.

Later....

It’s strange how you do very little all day but are never bored and are left wondering how you would ever fit in attending the dinner service. Suddenly two hours out of your day seems like such a waste, particularly when the food is good at the buffet anyway. And you get coffee.

We have chatted with people and become quite the experts at whale spotting. We have to ask other people what we’ve seen but we have a few tips now with which to impress people. Our new favourite spot is shared with our new mates who are trying to convince us that birds are interesting. And Eric Clapton. Yeah right....

They’re good fun and we laughed with Richard until well after midnight. Prior to that I was giving Claire a hug when I spotted a splash and some minke whales were really close to the ship. I shouted Richard and everyone else around managed to see them as well. People were then coming up to us and telling us they’d been watching us hug and how lovely it was. I was more impressed with my whale spotting ability....I hug Claire all the time!

We had a great day spotting the odd whale while cruising past some amazing scenery. I even managed to play deck quoits and was pretty good at it. It had been a bit of a joke before we came when people asked me what I was going to be doing all day and I would proudly exclaim that I would be playing deck quoits. And now I have. And I won. To be fair though....there was only me playing....

We nipped for another buffet meal and then stayed up for the midnight sun. Funny old part of the world!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb