Last day in Paris until next week...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
June 29th 2011
Published: September 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 48.8566, 2.35097

O.K. just finished yesterday's blog so will try to keep this short and sweet. Hopefully, the rest of the gang will chime in and tell you from their perspective how their day was.


Got up at about 8 ish this morning and left the apartment at around 10 ish, the girls walked and Joseph and I took the metro to the Cluny Museum, it was an Abbey and Roman Baths, now it is a medieval history museum along with housing the "Lady and the Unicorn" Tapestries. We saw Charlemagne's sword, lots of other swords, household implements of the middle ages, (many other things ;-) ) but the very beautiful tapestries mentioned above, we sat and enjoyed them for several minutes then made our way through most of the rest of the museum. When we returned our audio guides I went to find the rest of our party, I found them coming out of a doorway Joseph and I had missed. So with Joseph waiting for us in the courtyard, I found myself going through the other half of the museum that we missed! lots of interesting things to see there and I was really wishing I had the audio guide so I knew what I was looking at! Note to self, pay attention and see if there is more of the museum to see before you leave!

We took a brief walk through the garden of the Abbey before we made our way to the Concergerie Museum to see part of the original palace of the first kings of France. Also, this was where the accused were kept before their trial and before their executions during the Reign of Terror at the time of the French Revolution. So this included Marie Antoinette's cell. We then tried to see Saint Chappelle but they were closing till 2:15 so we went to tour the inside of Notre Dame while waiting, went through Notre Dame, saw Point Zero (the spot that all distances are measured from in France), examined the line to go up to the top of the church but since we couldn't see the end of it decided to skip it! Back to Saint Chappelle where we waited to go through security for about an half an hour but it was well worth it. This is, in my opinion, the most beautiful church, surrounded by stained glass windows you feel enveloped in a jewel box, never a bad thing!


After this we decided to all make our way back to the apartment to begin the packing process, Joseph and I stopped by the store for our last daily baguette, I stopped by the pharmacy for more cough drops, eucalyptus bonbons ;-) as they are called! a small package cost 4,95 euros, I "coughed" that up painfully, sorry couldn't resist the pun....

Back at the apt now and packed 95% of the way, just waiting for the morning stuff to go in. We leave the apt at 6:20 am for our 7:30 am train ride. Not sure if I will have the ability to blog after today until we get home, if I can I will, if not "a bientot"!

Wendy



Carlie: Right now I'm looking through all my pictures from today to pick out the highlights that Mrs. Hilliard hasn't touched on yet... bright and early this morning Sarah and I walked to the Cafe Mabillon for our last latte and goodie... tried a pain aux raisins (like a cinnamon roll without the cinnamon or frosting) since they we're out of pain au chocolat. We were glad to have the friendly waiter that we had the first time we came... when we went a couple days ago we got a snobby guy who didn't look too happy to speak English. But this waiter speaks English very well. I try to speak as much French as I can, so it was funny when Sarah and I said "Merci, au revoir!" and the French waiter said "Goodbye, have a nice day!"
My favorite thing that I saw at all three of today's sights (The Cluny Medival Museum, Notre Dame, and Saint Chappelle chapel) was seeing the beautiful stained glass. You can't see the beauty of it from the pictures, but they just glow when the light comes through the window! I thought it was interesting that I only saw a few colors in most of them- blue, green, red, and yellow. Mrs. Hilliard was right- The Saint Chappelle chapel really does look like a jewel box!

We stopped by the Amorino gelato store again, and I got a delicious chocolate that had a fudge swirl (and by swirl I mean huge chunks of the best chocolate you've ever tasted) and a Madagascar vanilla that puts Haggen Daz (my old favorite) to shame.

Well, I'm really looking forward to waking up at 5 tomorrow to leave for Mont. St. Michel. Riiiiiiggggghhhhtttt...... But seriously, I am very excited about staying overnight on an island that has a castle on it! We may not have the internet again for the rest of the trip, but if we do we'll be sure to update. A bientot!




Joseph: Today was really good. Today we did everything together, instead of two groups like we have been doing. We saw Notre Dame, which was impressive. They were playing some Davy Jonesish organ music and some people singing. It was kinda creepy inside but it was still cool. After that, we went to this chapel where the royalty would worship, and it was full of stained glass and was really colorful. Now we're packed and are ready to go to Normandy. See you guys in less than a week.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



30th June 2011

We have enjoyed all your posts and pictures immensely! Thank you so much for sharing this first leg of your trip with us. Have another fabulous week!
2nd July 2011

Finally got caught up on your blogging--what an amazing amount of sights you have seen in such a short time, even with you being sick, Wendy. Glad most of the natives have been friendly and the weather decent, although warm. Would have love
d to have seen the Monet gardens and the unicorn tapestries--looking forward to seeing more photos when you get home. Bon voyage and jour de l'ind?pendance heureuse. (Hope I said that right.)
3rd July 2011

Absolutely beautiful!

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb