To farm - no strimmer ...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
October 15th 2015
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.392, 103.924

After breakfast I go out to the farm on my own for a couple of hours. I cant cut the ngrass so settle for clearing away the remains of last years cassava crop from around the trees. I'm also still digging out bamboo roots that are slowly rotting in the ground each year.
As there has been a few dry days the excavator and trucks return for some more soil this morning. The first truck drive straight onto a patch of wet mud and immediately starts to sink a little. Instead of moving it they continue to load it with couple of tons of soil and then are surprised when it wont move at all. Takes a good shove from the excavators bucket to get it out. Next truck then pulls in and parks in exactly the same place ... ?!@
I get back to an empty house as Jai has gone to Ang next door's farm to cut some mat grass that they dont want. 1/2 hour later she returns with a big bundle over her shoulder and asks me to go and help her bring some more. First problem is an enormous bull that appears to be standing guard on the pathway through to the farm. I dont do cows or horses come to that, both too big and unpredictable so I give the beast about 25m of room and sneak my way through some trees. Jai then tells me that the grass is about 1/2 mile away across the ricefields. I am not confident about walking along the narrow and uneven dykes between the fields at the moment in case I slip and jar my hip so I stand and wait whilst she goes to collect them. My turn then to ferry them back to the house. Should be enough to keep her going for quite some time after she has finished the paid work for her friend.
Go the farm again late afternoon to clear some more old cassava. Jai grabs the excavator driver and tells him exactly what she wants him to be doing including to raise the bank between the new pond and her ricefields ... now ! If it can get a full dry season to settle it should be fine by next year its just getting through the next month if the rain comes heavy again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb